The Planted Tank Forum banner

Need help with choosing light for tank

1K views 6 replies 4 participants last post by  wildroseofky 
#1 ·
Hey guys , I'm a noob with planted tanks. Just got a 84x36x48 cm aquarium on ebay but it did not come with a light source. I was looking online but found that most recommended lights were like £200 pounds. I found this light on amazon which I have posted the link below but can some one advice me if it will be enough for a well planted tank.i am planning on getting the 90cm 21 watt option .Thanks Ash

[Ebay Link Removed]

Bump: Sorry the link was removed for some reason.and I found this light on ebay not amazon

itm/Aquarium-Fish-Tank-Overhead-T5-White-Blue-Light-Lighting-Aluminum-Lamp-3-Model-/261280849825?pt=UK_Pet_Supplies_Fish&var=&hash=item3cd58d5fa1

Please type in www.ebay. Co .uk and paste link after thanks

#3 ·
Well. Blue light doesnt do much for your plants. There are folks who complained that algae grew abundantly with the blue light. Try to get a T5HO light and use 2 daylight bulbs in it, each with 6500k light spectrum. your plants would thank you.

I did a quick search in ebay and saw this item for about 40.

Zoo Med AquaSun T5-HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood, 30-Inch New

#5 ·
You can get an 80" T5HO light on aquatraders for under $200. I have had good luck with my smaller one. Had for for a year. The bulbs that come with it are not much but I ordered new bulbs from 1000bulbs and the light works great. If you want a cheap solution for now go with spiral CFL bulbs in a metal clamp light or similar fixture. Four or five of those would get you into medium to high light for under $50. Any light fixture that holds CFL bulbs and can be mounted over the tank would work.

#6 ·