Hardy fish for new tanks
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fish


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2008, 09:26 AM   #1
Haksar
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dubai / U.A.E
Posts: 25
Default

Hardy fish for new tanks


Hello All,

When is the best time to add fish in new planted tank and what is the best fish to keep in terms of hardiness/looks.My tank has been set up for 4 days only.

Thanks,
Haksar
__________________
Always remember Murphy's Law if you are in this HOBBY
Haksar is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-31-2008, 09:36 AM   #2
spinycheek
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
spinycheek's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lakewood, CO
Posts: 379
Default

You want to make sure that the nitrifying bacteria are established (your tank is cycled) to avoid problems. I use ammonia solution used for cleaning to do this instead of fish, but if you want to use a fish, zebra danios are pretty hardy as well as bettas.
__________________
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
spinycheek is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2008, 09:42 AM   #3
fshfanatic
Planted Tank Guru
 
fshfanatic's Avatar
 
PTrader: (24/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Arizona
Posts: 5,279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haksar View Post
Hello All,

When is the best time to add fish in new planted tank and what is the best fish to keep in terms of hardiness/looks.My tank has been set up for 4 days only.

Thanks,
Haksar
If your tank has been setup for 4 days with nothing to start the cycle, then it is a fresh tank and there is no difference than if you set it up 20 minutes ago.

You must add something to the tank to kick start the cycle. Either fish or ammonia. If you add fish, add few so the cycle doesnt jump. You could also add PURE ammonia and wait. This is what is called a fishless cycle.
__________________
Ehfipimp #273 ( Eheim Classic: 2260, 2217, Eheim Ecco: 2236, 2232 ) Fluval FX5

fshfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2008, 09:45 AM   #4
Haksar
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dubai / U.A.E
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fshfanatic View Post
If your tank has been setup for 4 days with nothing to start the cycle, then it is a fresh tank and there is no difference than if you set it up 20 minutes ago.

You must add something to the tank to kick start the cycle. Either fish or ammonia. If you add fish, add few so the cycle doesnt jump. You could also add PURE ammonia and wait. This is what is called a fishless cycle.
Thanks for you inputs,I had a die off of some 10-15 Amano shrimps which i managed to remove since the last two days.Will this act as to speed up the cycle.In the past I have tried fishless cycle by way of adding frozen shrimps.

Regards,
Haksar
__________________
Always remember Murphy's Law if you are in this HOBBY
Haksar is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2008, 09:49 AM   #5
fshfanatic
Planted Tank Guru
 
fshfanatic's Avatar
 
PTrader: (24/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Arizona
Posts: 5,279
Default

Anything decaying in your tank will start a cycle.
__________________
Ehfipimp #273 ( Eheim Classic: 2260, 2217, Eheim Ecco: 2236, 2232 ) Fluval FX5

fshfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2008, 09:52 AM   #6
spinycheek
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
spinycheek's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lakewood, CO
Posts: 379
Default

Technically, PURE ammonia is a gas. The stuff you use for cycling is a solution of ammonium chloride and water.
__________________
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
spinycheek is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2008, 09:52 AM   #7
Haksar
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dubai / U.A.E
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fshfanatic View Post
Anything decaying in your tank will start a cycle.
Thanks,but I am coming back to my fiirst post what I meant to ask was once my tank is cycled what fish is recommended(I know this is personal choice) in terms of algae and hardiness.
__________________
Always remember Murphy's Law if you are in this HOBBY
Haksar is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2008, 10:06 AM   #8
fshfanatic
Planted Tank Guru
 
fshfanatic's Avatar
 
PTrader: (24/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Arizona
Posts: 5,279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spinycheek View Post
Technically, PURE ammonia is a gas. The stuff you use for cycling is a solution of ammonium chloride and water.
Walk into a Safeway or other market and buy the bottle that says "Pure Ammonia".

Better?
__________________
Ehfipimp #273 ( Eheim Classic: 2260, 2217, Eheim Ecco: 2236, 2232 ) Fluval FX5

fshfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2008, 12:21 PM   #9
rmc
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
rmc's Avatar
 
PTrader: (60/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: St Louis Area
Posts: 569
Default

I wouldn't cycle a tank with any fish I didn't plan on keeping in that tank. It defeats the quarantine principle and you could easily have a contamination problem instead of a cycling problem. If your water has chloramines and you used dechlor then your water already has ammonia in it.

If you only add a few fish instead of trying to populate the whole tank in one shot, and you feed sparingly for the first few weeks your tank will cycle without ever showing any ill effects.
rmc is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2008, 12:37 PM   #10
KurtG
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 368
Default

What size tank and what fish do you want to end up with stock wise? Then, we can advise what from that list would be best to stock first.
__________________
75g 3 T8s 2x OD, XP3, pres. CO2,
KurtG is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2008, 04:44 PM   #11
Kasper
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 8
Default

The hardest part about setting up a new tank is the N-cycle waiting period. There are a lot of methods you can use to accelerate the process, many listed above. I, on the other hand, always choose to wait and let mother nature take her course. I'm not a fan of putting in a few 'hardy fish' to cycle the tank. First of all, as rmc said, its an issue with contamination. I remember a friend of mine bought 10 feeder goldfish to help cycle his tank, and in the end, his tank was a cess pool for ick. Not to mention, goldfish are DIRTY little fish!
I wouldn't recommend you put any other species of fish in your tank other then the ones you're planning to keep. It's not fair to the fish u used to cycle the tank, and it'll limits the chance of your tank contracting any unwanted deseases.
I'd try urinating in my tank to help kick start the N-cycle before I add any kind of cycling fish.

Kasp
Kasper is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2008, 04:57 PM   #12
seAdams
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 400
Default

How big is your tank?

After your tank is cycled (Ammon., Nitrites are zero, nitrates are low) one of the hardiest fish around are Barbs. If your tank is small, then I suggest Cherry barbs.

If you want an algae eater, Bristlenose plecos are hardy and stay small, but I would wait until you have some algae in the tank for it.
seAdams is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2008, 06:17 PM   #13
Choco
Planted Member
 
Choco's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 276
Default

Somewhat OT question:

What if your tap water already has ammonia?
i.e. my Tap water has chlormine, and I get a >.25ppm ammonia test.

Will they help start your nitrogen cycle as well?
Choco is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2008, 06:39 PM   #14
newshound
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2005
Location: northern ontario canada
Posts: 555
Default

take some filter media from a cycled tank.

BOOM
Good to go.
add fish slowly.
__________________
under stock
over filter
newshound is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2008, 09:34 PM   #15
spinycheek
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
spinycheek's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lakewood, CO
Posts: 379
Default

Read the ingredients. Being a chemist, the title of the chemical gives no indication of what's actually inside. My bottle says ammonia, I've also seen aqueous ammonia.
__________________
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
spinycheek is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012