Bell, ladder, reactor, powerhead? Best for 100g?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2004, 09:28 PM   #1
wonder woman
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
wonder woman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 490
Default

I just set up a DIY co2 system for my 100g tank. I have the begining of a co2 setup, a gallon jug with tubing runnning through the lid to a powerhead. But it seems that more than half of the bubbles just rise to the top and pop. Would I be better off with diffusion bells or a reactor instead? Where do I find large diffusion bells? Does a reactor (the tube thingy with aquaballs inside it, like the Aquamedic 1000) require pressurized co2, or a cannister filter (I only have a hob filter)?
Thanks in advance!
__________________
-Christina-
MEMBER: #15 Eheim Pimps Club, Cory Addicts Anonymous, COAST, AGA.
550g pond= koi, comets/shubunkin, water lillies.
165g RES turtle pond in progress.
100g planted tank= 240 watts c.f., 1 DIY 1-gal co2 jug, platies, angels, lace gouramies, congos, black neons, otos.
30g= cories, platies, platy fry, ghost shrimp.
18g= platy fry
10g= baby RES tank- Turtlebuddy
30g= temp. adult RES tank- Myrtlemamma
20gL= temp. juv. RES tank- Tweak and Mertle
wonder woman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-20-2004, 09:37 PM   #2
Gomer
Wannabe Guru
 
Gomer's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NM
Posts: 1,153
Default

With a 100g tank and an HOB, you will want to use a powered reactor. IMO, this is the ONLY reasonably options. How you accomplish this can be with a DIY approach like:
http://www.qsl.net/w2wdx/aquaria/diyco2.html
...or a turn key setup like this:
http://www.aquatic-store.com/en-us/p_101.html


Supposedly the Aqua Medic Circular CO2 Reactor (also at aquatic-store) can handle 125g tanks, but I'd trust the powered reactor first )

You cannot use anything like the aquamedic with an HOB. THis is normally run on a canister filter...although I suppose you could hook a a loop using a rio pump.
Hope this helps.
__________________
Gomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 04:23 PM   #3
malkore
Planted Tank Guru
 
malkore's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 2,165
Default

yep, a reactor of some type. A ladder would work, but you'd have to run more CO2 since the dissolve rate isn't as high as a reactor. and ladders and bells have no extra water movement so you'd have to have a powerhead near them to distribute the CO2 rich water.
If you had an external reactor like Gomer mentions, it won't look ugly in the tank...like mine does
__________________
Malkore
Filstar XP2 PIMP #3
Visit my aquarium pages - see specs on my tanks, and photos of how they've evolved
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hagen ladder TheSmJ Equipment 3 09-18-2004 10:01 PM
Strange Reaction at base of hagen ladder Shay General Planted Tank Discussion 9 06-04-2004 05:09 PM
Hagen ladder w/ two 2liters? Shay DIY 9 05-31-2004 06:28 PM
Hagen Ladder problems plantastic28 General Planted Tank Discussion 4 03-24-2004 06:50 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012