External reactor question
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2004, 02:22 AM   #1
TeeItUp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
TeeItUp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mount Vernon, Ohio
Posts: 493
Default

I am thinking of switching from an internal reactor to an external. Looking at some designs and it is not clear if the external ones still use an air stone inside like the modified Python internals.
TeeItUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-20-2004, 02:24 AM   #2
wellbiz
Wannabe Guru
 
wellbiz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeeItUp
I am thinking of switching from an internal reactor to an external. Looking at some designs and it is not clear if the external ones still use an air stone inside like the modified Python internals.
No air stone in my reactor......


Jason
__________________
120g, Flourite & Sand. DIY Stand and Canopy. CF lighting 3wpg, Pressurized C02, DIY reactor. 2-XP3's, 500watt heater.
Heavily planted
wellbiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 12:07 PM   #3
TeeItUp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
TeeItUp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mount Vernon, Ohio
Posts: 493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wellbiz
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeeItUp
I am thinking of switching from an internal reactor to an external. Looking at some designs and it is not clear if the external ones still use an air stone inside like the modified Python internals.
No air stone in my reactor......


Jason
OK thanks, let me ask another question then, is the water and CO2 counter current then? Does the CO2 enter the bottom of the reactor and the water inlet enters the top and exits the bottom then?
TeeItUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 02:23 PM   #4
wellbiz
Wannabe Guru
 
wellbiz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeeItUp
Quote:
Originally Posted by wellbiz
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeeItUp
I am thinking of switching from an internal reactor to an external. Looking at some designs and it is not clear if the external ones still use an air stone inside like the modified Python internals.
No air stone in my reactor......


Jason
OK thanks, let me ask another question then, is the water and CO2 counter current then? Does the CO2 enter the bottom of the reactor and the water inlet enters the top and exits the bottom then?
Nope, C02 and water enter top of reactor which is input. the out put is the bottom... This way the C02 trys to stay at the top and if fully dissolved instead of blown out the spray bar...

Jason
__________________
120g, Flourite & Sand. DIY Stand and Canopy. CF lighting 3wpg, Pressurized C02, DIY reactor. 2-XP3's, 500watt heater.
Heavily planted
wellbiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 03:56 PM   #5
TeeItUp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
TeeItUp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mount Vernon, Ohio
Posts: 493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wellbiz
Nope, C02 and water enter top of reactor which is input. the out put is the bottom... This way the C02 trys to stay at the top and if fully dissolved instead of blown out the spray bar...

Jason
Thanks Jason. I think I will try the external for a couple of reasons. To me at least I have more pressure from my Eheim 2215 so if this slows down the output so much better. The other reason is my driving factor and that is with 40% weekly water changes the water goes below my internal reactor requiring some time to bleed it of O2.
TeeItUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 04:43 PM   #6
TeeItUp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
TeeItUp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mount Vernon, Ohio
Posts: 493
Default

Using an Eheim 2215 (164 gph) on the output side if I use 2" PVC pipe how long should the chamber for the reactor be?
TeeItUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 06:52 PM   #7
unirdna
Planted Tank Guru
 
unirdna's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,290
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeeItUp
Using an Eheim 2215 (164 gph) on the output side if I use 2" PVC pipe how long should the chamber for the reactor be?
ohhh. I'd go with 10 inches (25cm) or so. That should do ya.
__________________
Ted

ADA 90p - Set up April 2007 - Journal
46g - Terminated March 2007 - Journal
unirdna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 08:22 PM   #8
aquatic-store.com
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
aquatic-store.com's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis Missouri
Posts: 598
Default

none of the ones i sell or have seen use a stone for the external reactor
__________________
Marcus S Russo
JBJ powerheads buy 2 GET 1 FREE
LIVE PLANTS
Co2 supplies Largest on the net.
Dupla substrate heaters
http://www.water-testers.com.com
<p>Enter the 2005 Photo contest and win lighting, co2 supplies and more. </p>


http://www.aquatic-store.com/index2.html
aquatic-store.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 11:37 AM   #9
TeeItUp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
TeeItUp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mount Vernon, Ohio
Posts: 493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aquatic-store.com
none of the ones i sell or have seen use a stone for the external reactor
OK thanks, that's good to know then. I will build mine with out one. The reason I ask is that many of the internal ones do.
__________________
Eheim Pimp Club member #14
2215 Classic
Eheim CO2 Diffuser
TeeItUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 04:18 PM   #10
TeeItUp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
TeeItUp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mount Vernon, Ohio
Posts: 493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by unirdna
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeeItUp
Using an Eheim 2215 (164 gph) on the output side if I use 2" PVC pipe how long should the chamber for the reactor be?
ohhh. I'd go with 10 inches (25cm) or so. That should do ya.
What are the advantages/disadvantages of using 2" diameter PVC 10", 12", or say 15" tall or just not necessary?
__________________
Eheim Pimp Club member #14
2215 Classic
Eheim CO2 Diffuser
TeeItUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 05:41 PM   #11
rkundla
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Streetsboro, OH
Posts: 90
Default

The longer the reactor, the more space for the CO2 to diffuse against whatever is in your reactor creating turbulance, but it also will cause the output rate to decrease. (all things being equal)
__________________
**** Eheim Pimp Club member #13****
75 gallon, Eheim 2026, AquaMedic 2x150W 6500K MH, CO2, medium planted angelfish tank
rkundla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 12:17 AM   #12
TeeItUp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
TeeItUp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mount Vernon, Ohio
Posts: 493
Default

Well I finished my new external reactor. I hope to switch it over this weekend. I will be placing it on the return side of my eheim 2215. It has 8 bio-balls in it with room for a couple more. Should make the tank look cleaner (more natural) and alot easier to deal with during water changes. Thanks for the help and advice.

__________________
Eheim Pimp Club member #14
2215 Classic
Eheim CO2 Diffuser
TeeItUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 04:42 AM   #13
Overfloater
Wannabe Guru
 
Overfloater's Avatar
 
PTrader: (73/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,895
Default

Looks good. That should work fine. IMO making a reactor longer than 15cm is a waste. All the CO2 sits in the top 5cm of my reactor and is mixed with water flowing by. The rest of the reactor is just a vessel that doesn't provide any CO2 exchange area.
__________________
Overfloater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 07:51 PM   #14
pedietz
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 188
Default

Wont the two 90 degree angles on the output side, hurt your flow rate ??
pedietz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 08:00 PM   #15
Overfloater
Wannabe Guru
 
Overfloater's Avatar
 
PTrader: (73/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,895
Default

A little probably, however he wants to slow down his canister's output so this design should do him right.
__________________
Overfloater is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eheim wet dry and an external reactor rich9521 Equipment 3 05-04-2004 12:21 AM
In-line external heater Aquachromis Equipment 35 03-12-2004 05:04 PM
External Reactor Not Working (Location Inflow or Outflow??) djbiehl Equipment 9 02-20-2004 04:01 AM
External Powerhead CO2 Reactor SNPiccolo5 Equipment 11 04-07-2003 08:54 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012