Hood w/ CFL Lighting
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY

Old 08-05-2014, 08:01 PM   #1
AHGoodwin
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)
Hood w/ CFL Lighting

This is going to be my first hood build. It is for my 29 gallon. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Since this is my first time, I would like to have any potential problems pointed out beforehand so hopefully I don't make any major mistakes. I have made a model in sketchup (it is rough as I am still learning how to use all the features).

Materials:

3x Porcelain Light Socket
3x 26 Watt 6500k CFL
1x 24inch LED Strip
2x Sanyo Denki San Ace 92 48V .12A DC 92mm x 32mm Cooling Fan
5-6x 6ft Extension Cord 13 Amp, 125-volt, 1,625-watt capacity
2x Small-Medium Hinges
2x Corner Brace (will explain later)
1x Small-Medium Handle
Aluminum Flashing
Plywood
1x3 in board
Small Screws
Black paint

The plan:

The hood itself will be built with plywood. The plywood will be painted black prior to assembly so I won't have to worry about getting paint on any of the electrical. The hood dimensions will be such that it will sit on top of the tank, and then I will use the 1x3 board to make a frame around the bottom of the hood that will overlap the outer perimeter of the tank to prevent the hood from sliding off.

The purpose of the LED light strip will be to come on slightly before and turn off slightly after the main lights to lessen the shock of the drastic change in light. They will be attached to the lid of the hood using plywood held on with the braces which will be bent appropriately to give the proper angle.

Although the images do not show it, there will be holes cut in the hood where the fans are and they will be used as exhaust. This will help vent the heat from the lights, as well as keep cat hair out of my tank.