I NEED THE GOOD RUNDOWN ON PLANTS!
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion

Old 04-18-2004, 05:02 AM   #1
il-ultimo

PTrader: (0/0%)

howdy yall. im fairly new to the the world of fishkeeping in comparison to most. my tanks are all doing well. when i first started keeping fish i bought some live plants and fertilizer. some grew. most died. i then stopped using fertilizer. no change. ive bought a heap of banana lily's which grow like crazy without fertilizer but other plants perish. i have 3 freshwater tanks setup at the moment. they're not biotopes but im trying to work along those lines.
inhabitants as follows..
tank 1 - south american (except the glass catties)
cardinal tetras
blue emperor tetras
rummy nose tetras
corydoras
marble hatchet fish
dwarf pencilfish
glass catfish
--
tank 2 - new guinean
forktail blueyes
peacock gudgeons
lyretail rainbows
--
tank 3 -swamp
betta splenden
--
okie dokies. sooooo im moving house shortly and im going to set up some bigger tanks, which id like to deck out with nice healthy plants.
time to lay the questions on.
-
how essential are fertilizers in comparison to light and ph etc?
-
whats the difference between cheap and expensive fertilizers and what products should i be looking for?
-
for the south american tank. water soft/ph6.5 what plants (preferably sth american) should i be looking out for? and what are the requirements for light/additives etc.. and
for the new guinean tank. water harder/ph7.5 what plants (preferably new guinean or australian) should i be looking out for? and what are the requirements for light/additives etc.. and and
for the thai tank. water softish to neutral/ph6.8 - 7 what plants (preferably thai) should i be looking out for? and what are the requirements for light/additives etc.. and and and