Coralife Freshwater Double Aqua T5 Strip 36 Inch..
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Low Tech Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2014, 08:17 PM   #1
Angels7
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 103
Default

Coralife Freshwater Double Aqua T5 Strip 36 Inch..


You would think I should know this since I've had my tanks for so long but I have a question about lighting for my 30 gallon tank because I always get confused about the per wattage lighting etc....

I had an extra Coralife Freshwater Double Aqua T5 Strip 36 Inch fixture that I used when I set up my on my 30 Gallon Bolivian Ram tank a couple of years ago which no longer works so I need to get a new lighting fixture. I have low tech plants in this set up: Java Fern, Anubias Nana and Christmas Moss on driftwood. The lighting has always seemed very bright to me which my Rams don't seem too fond of and neither am I. My light colored substrate makes it even brighter.

Can someone please suggest a different lighting fixture that would be adequate for my plants but not too bright for my Rams?

Also wondering if I should get a different lighting for my 65 Gallon Tank which is pretty tall. Same light fixture Coralife double strip T5 strip. Plant set up is same for this one in this one too... Java Fern, Anubias Nana and Anubias Nana Petite. I sometimes get brown algae on my Anubias plants with this lighting which is something that didn't occur until about a year ago. Thinking if I switch lighting this may help somewhat or possibly make the lighting effects on the tank more interesting.

Thanks!

Last edited by Angels7; 07-24-2014 at 12:56 PM.. Reason: Added additional info in post
Angels7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-24-2014, 06:49 AM   #2
CoryWM
Algae Grower
 
CoryWM's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 118
Default

Perhaps the current led lighting series since they have dimmers? I'd say go with a satallite plus and dim it down if needed.
CoryWM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 06:57 AM   #3
LuckyCharm
Planted Member
 
LuckyCharm's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Matawan NJ
Posts: 211
Default

I agreed with CoryWM, there are some LED out there you can dimmed. LED have a higher start up cost, but they energy consumption makes it for it after some time(forgot the time :P )
Based on the plants you named, they're all low light plant. You said that your currently light fixture is too bright for your liking, why try some floating plant to reduce the amount of that light that enters the tank? With the bright light they'd be able to absorb more nutrients from the water and the low light plant shouldn't have a problem with that. Win win :P
~If you think that might work, stay away from duckweed!
LuckyCharm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 07:19 AM   #4
OVT
Carpe Diem
 
OVT's Avatar
 
PTrader: (142/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SF East Bay Area
Posts: 5,183
Default

If the light does not work, it is most likely the ballast - CoraLife is notorious for that. You can get a replacement Furham ballast for about $25 shipped and changing it is < 30 min job.

Just another option.

v3
__________________
Courtesy * Integrity * Perseverance * Indominable Spirit * and Self Control
Tenets of TKD
OVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 12:37 PM   #5
Angels7
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 103
Default

Thanks everyone.... I tried the floating plants before but it didn't work out well from what I recall for one reason or another.

I think I will try the LED lighting on both tanks just to try something different. I've been using these lights for about 7 years now (of course I changed the bulbs as required...lol)

Hopefully since my plants are low light, I shouldn't have any algae outbursts with changing from Double T5 to LED, right?
Angels7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 04:50 PM   #6
CoryWM
Algae Grower
 
CoryWM's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 118
Default

In my experience changing lighting always puts a tank off balance, or at least can. Even changing bulbs. That being said, I don't think it should be too bad for ya. It's just that any time we change a piece of an ecosystem like that, the rest of the tank has to adjust to balance out again.
CoryWM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 02:56 PM   #7
Angels7
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 103
Default

My Satellite LED's should be arriving on Monday. Again, thanks for the suggestions
Angels7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 04:36 AM   #8
Angels7
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 103
Default

Absolutely LOVING my LED lights on both tanks! So far both the fish and plants look like they are happy too. Leaves are algae free. Hope it continues.

I really like the capability of adjusting the lighting and the different effects that come with it for daytime and nightime. Especially loving the cool blue simulated moonlight setting!

Again, thanks for the suggestions!
Angels7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012