Getting some things right, and some things wrong
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals

Old 07-07-2014, 06:31 AM   #1
spuloo

PTrader: (0/0%)

Getting some things right, and some things wrong

Hi guys,

I've got a 45 gallon bowfront, and its my first attempt at a planted tank. I made a pretty specific My Tank profile if you can access it. I'm a little lost on how to post it as a link here.

INFO
Size - 45 Bow Front (33gal water volume)

Date Started - 4/2014

Lighting - Odyssea t5ho 4x36", 39w per bulb. They work on two time banks with two bulbs each. I run bank 1 (78w) from noon til 5:15pm. I run bank 2 from 2:45pm til 8pm. This gives me an average light wattage of 100w t5ho 8hrs a day. Lights have 16" of water to penetrate at lowest point in substrate, and sit 3" off the tank.

Equipment - Fluval 306 canister filter (1st basket eco sponge, 2nd basket ceramic Biomax, 3rd Polishing Pad w Biomax)
Hydor 300w In-Line Heater w/ second Hydor Electronic Thermostat
Air stone at night

CO2 - 5lb bottle, Aquatek Regulator, Bubble Counter, Aqua World Super Diffuser positioned at the bottom of the tank under the filter output.
Single drop checker w 4dkh solution. CO2 Target: 30ppm

Substrate - Aquarium pebble bottom contour w/ 3 inch cap of Eco-Complete.

Parameters - pH - 6.6, kH - 3-4 ºdKH, gH - 3-6 ºdGH, NH3 - 0ppm, NO2 - 0ppm, NO3 - 5ppm

Fertilization - 2.5ml Flourish/day, 7.5ml Flourish Trace 2x/wk, Flourish root tabs cut in half (1/2 dose recommended on box)

Plants - Dwarf Hairgrass (Eleocharis acicularis), Spiralis (Cryptocoryne spiralis)

Inhabitants - 10 - Cardinal Tetra (Paracheirodon axelrodi), 6 - Black Skirt (Gymnocorymbus ternetzi), 2 common, 2 long fin, 2 white, 3 - Otocinclus