Lighting for 5gallon Planted Tank
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Planted Nano Tanks

Old 07-05-2014, 03:39 AM   #1
dcharlton75

PTrader: (0/0%)

Lighting for 5gallon Planted Tank

I need help on how to decide what light to get for a Tetra 5 gallon planted tank. The tank is 16" from side to side and 8" from the back to the front. I have dwarf hair grass, lugwigia repens?, dwarf anubias, vesuvias echinodous augustifolia?, crypt, Java fern & wisteria. I am brand new to planted tanks and hope these can all do well in the same tank if properly cared for. But I need help getting the right lighting and how to get started on co2 setup if needed, it's very overwhelming! I only have the flourish in it right now and it's doing "okay" but I'm sure it will start suffering soon if I don't get it done soon. Thanks in advance!
dcharlton75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-05-2014, 04:14 AM   #2
BuddhaBoy
Algae Grower

Finnex fugray 16inch.

That should do the trick
BuddhaBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 11:57 PM   #3
desertfish24
Algae Grower

Daylight CFL's if your on a budget. I have 2 13w daylight cfls and one 15w walmart flourescent over a ten gallon and it appears like its working for me.
desertfish24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 01:48 AM   #4
AquaAurora
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (8/100%)

Quote:
Originally Posted by desertfish24 View Post
Daylight CFL's if your on a budget. I have 2 13w daylight cfls and one 15w walmart flourescent over a ten gallon and it appears like its working for me.
+1 this, though I got my lights (6500k 13w cfls) from home depot, 4 pack cost less than buying 1 'plant growing cfl bulb' from most places.