New sand - Nat. Geo.
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2014, 12:04 AM   #1
Tvadna
Planted Member
 
Tvadna's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 168
Default

New sand - Nat. Geo.


Has anyone tried the National Geographic sand that Petsmart has now?

If you're not familiar with it. Here is the link.
http://www.petsmart.com/fish/gravel-...ar_id=36-21320

I'm thinking about using it as a MTS cap but I'm not even sure if sand is a suitable cap for a dirted tank. I've previously used Floramax successfully but I always like to try new combos.
__________________
Don't get caught with your plants down
Tvadna is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-05-2014, 03:25 AM   #2
susankat
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
susankat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tulsa, Ok
Posts: 796
Default

I got some in a 15 gal. Way cheaper for black sand than other stuff.
susankat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 05:28 PM   #3
Kareen
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 151
Default

I have a 125 Dirt tank w/sand cap but it's pool filter sand it should be ok to use.
Kareen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 03:22 AM   #4
xxUnRaTeDxxRkOxx
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
xxUnRaTeDxxRkOxx's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Denver, CO.
Posts: 883
Default

Nat. Geo. sand is fine fore any style of aquarium, it's nothing more than another product being brought to the market is all.
__________________
xxUnRaTeDxxRkOxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 01:56 PM   #5
bpizzuto
Algae Grower
 
bpizzuto's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 89
Default

I am using Nat. sand in my 75 and 40B tanks. I switched to pool filter sand on my 90. I like the finer pool filter sand better and its way cheaper. $5 for 100 pounds.
bpizzuto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 06:39 PM   #6
talontsiawd
Planted Tank Guru
 
talontsiawd's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 4,052
Send a message via AIM to talontsiawd
Default

It seems the whole National Geographic product line is just repackaged versions of other brands. Ironically, it looks like it may be Petco sand (which I love for a basic sand) but I think it's only sold through Petsmart.
talontsiawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 09:08 AM   #7
RoyalFizbin
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 264
Default

Saw it in the black sand version today at a petsmart. Says on the back that it might or might not contain minerals that will affect the ph. Tells you to monitor and adjust accordingly. Anybody done any testing on it yet to see how inert it is? Many years ago I purchased a bag of black sand from petsmart called geosystem natural sand. It made my water so hard that it wasn't worth wasting all the drops in my test kit to finish the test. It also had the same kind of warning on the bag about minerals and possible ph changes.

I might go back for the small bag to test it in some water to see if it leeches anything.
RoyalFizbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 04:47 AM   #8
RoyalFizbin
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 264
Default

Bought a small bag of the black sand and doing some water testing. Washed about half cup with tap water, drained it and then soaked it in RO water. My RO water started at TDS 10. Initial test right after adding the water, the TDS of the washed sand and RO is 26. ph 6.2, kh 1, gh 1
Now 24 hours later the TDS is 38. Not testing the other parameters yet. So far I think the increase in tds is very small. I've been stirring it up every few hours. It might just be that I didn't do a through enough cleaning. I'm hoping that it's inert. I'll test the TDS everyday for the next few days.


Update after 48 hours, It's showing TDS of 36. Slight drop in TDS could be due to the accuracy of my cheap TDS meter. Looking good so far.

Last edited by RoyalFizbin; 07-17-2014 at 05:58 AM.. Reason: update
RoyalFizbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012