Maybe you guys can help... or maybe its fine?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Planted Nano Tanks

Old 04-08-2004, 09:21 AM   #1
Juan-Carlos
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Hello, I'm just getting into planted tanks. And I have a few concerns. I'm setting up a 10g with flourite substrate. I have the 10g's hood with 2 6500k screw in Power compacts 19W ea. so total 38 watts. Now I'm used to really high lighting for reef aquariums wich is what I mainly keep at the moment so It seems really dim compared to my other tanks... I have a 5.5g nano reef with a 175W metal halide right under where the 10g is going heh. is the 38w lighting bad ,ok ,good ,very good?? Filter wise, I was guessing not too much flow was needed so I was considering using either the small palm aquarium hang on filter or a penguin mini or something... but then I read some articles that the least water surface aggitation the better so to loose as little gasses. so what would be recomended I use? I was wanting some short growing plants like riccia, java moss, christmas moss, Gloso, and (dwarf hairgrass and micro swords that i already have growing in an outside pond.) in addition to soe other plants ofcource but will the 38W's of PC's suffice??

Any info tips or ideas will be greatly appreciated.

if you guys want to see some pics of one of my lower light reef aquariums you can check it out at www.jcreef.bravehost.com

Thank you,

-Juan-Carlos Munoz
Miami Florida
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-08-2004, 09:34 AM   #2
ninoboy
Wannabe Guru

Are you injecting any CO2? I would say 38watts are enough (even better wiht reflector). I use Whisper hang on filter for my 10gl with CO2 injection. I still get about 30ppm CO2. It's perfectly fine. Any HOT filter 100gph and under is fine as long as you don't use the one with bio wheel.