Flourite Black Sand or Flourite Black?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate

Old 05-29-2008, 06:03 PM   #1
UF_gator
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Flourite Black Sand or Flourite Black?

I know this might be an old topic, but I've been browsing through the forum and haven't gotten a real answer yet.

What is the main difference between Flourite Black Sand and Flourite Black?

I'm just beginning to get into this hobby, so my knowledge is limited. I'm also going for the Iwagumi style, so I'm going to try to have a covered ground with some kinda moss. So that might changed my selection of substrate. Thanks!
UF_gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-29-2008, 09:48 PM   #2
Ozymandias
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (25/100%)

black sand is just that sand whille black is gravel like (thay esentally are the same thing just in different grades). personally if i was going to and Iwagumi tank i would use the black sand because i imagine it would make planting a whole lot easier
Old 05-30-2008, 04:56 AM   #3
Oreo
Planted Member

I just got 5 bags of the Flourite black sand today in the mail.

The regular flourite black is a more coarse grind of the same material. The sand is a very fine sand- almost like beach sand, but not as uniform in consistency.

I'll say one thing, you DEFINITELY want to rinse this stuff out first. I put about half a cup of the flourite black sand in a small bowl & added tap water = POOF! Instant cloudy water. VERY cloudy water.
Oreo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 06:13 AM   #4
MedRed
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (27/100%)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
I just got 5 bags of the Flourite black sand today in the mail.