Questions about building my aquarium
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY

Old 06-16-2014, 09:40 PM   #1
Matt's Tank

PTrader: (0/0%)

Questions about building my aquarium

I've decided to build my own aquarium instead of spending thousands on one. I've never done it before and have some questions that you've probably heard a million times before, but I'm going to ask them anyway.

First, if I in tend to place the aquarium on a solid surface like plywood, can I silicone the front, back, and sides on top of the bottom? I've seen it done like that on various websites before, but I've also seen the front, back, and sides siliconed to edges of the bottom. Which is correct, and why? Also, the sides should be inside of the front and back right, or does that not matter?

Second, there's no reason to use hardened glass right? Again, I've heard differing views on this mater when searching online about it. If there is a reason to use hardened glass, what is it?

Finally, dimensions and support. I plan on building it about 72 x 24 x 24. That's about 180 US gallons. Is that a reasonable size from a maintenance standpoint, or would 20" high (or another dimensional change) be easier to maintain for some reason I haven't thought of? I plan on running a 2" glass brace internally around the top and bottom, and a 2" by 24" brace across the top every two feet to prevent bowing and add structural support. Is that complete overkill, or reasonable, or not enough? The last thing I need is 200 gallons of water and glass all over my living room floor.

Thanks for all of the info. I've learned a lot in my short stay here and look forward to learning much much more.
Matt's Tank is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-16-2014, 09:43 PM   #2
Fishninja101
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)