check valve ?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2004, 01:22 AM   #1
lokobreed
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 524
Send a message via AIM to lokobreed
Default

http://www.bigalsonline.com/catalog/...tegory_id=1633

Is this the type of check valve I would need on a Co2 sysytem, I have the 20 lb co2 tank and Millwaukee All In One Regulator with a Power Reactor...

If so how many should I get and do I need to get any tubing?
lokobreed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-18-2004, 01:32 AM   #2
Rolo
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 1,717
Default

Of course you need tubing...how are you going to get the CO2 into the tank?

That check valve will do...I have the penn plax one and have no qualms about it. You just cut your tubing in one place and insert the check valve. Make sure you do it correctly, by putting it in the direction of the airflow.
Rolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 02:17 AM   #3
lokobreed
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 524
Send a message via AIM to lokobreed
Default

My reactor came with tubing and was told thats all the tubing I need...
Is that correct?

If so what I mean was do I need more tubing for the check valve (sorry should have made that clearer)

Also do I only need one and where to I place it?
lokobreed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 02:50 AM   #4
Rolo
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 1,717
Default

You only need one. Cut the tubing and reconnet the tubing with the checkvalve (there are too ends of the check valve). Place about a foot from where the tubing comes out of the tank.
Rolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 02:55 AM   #5
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (175/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,087
Default

You don't need extra tubing, just cut the airline and place the checkvalve inline. Theoretically you need only one. Those cheap ones are made for airpumps, and they don't hold up too well with CO2. I would get a couple and check/replace them once in a while, perhaps every 6 months.
You can buy some really expensive ones, around 40$ for German metallic CO2 check valves, the way to go if you want and can afford the best.
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 03:54 AM   #6
Fishbulb
Algae Grower
 
Fishbulb's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 60
Default

This tetratec check valve will specifically NOT work with CO2. I have one on my system that i bought a few days ago. A few days of the pH controller turning off now and then, and the water now goes right through the valve.
FB
Fishbulb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 03:59 AM   #7
lokobreed
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 524
Send a message via AIM to lokobreed
Default

Whats a cheap Check Valve that will work?
lokobreed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 04:17 AM   #8
Fishbulb
Algae Grower
 
Fishbulb's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 60
Default

let me know if you find one. i'm still looking. I think the main problem is that most people keep constant pressure in their co2 lines because they run the co2 constantly. I suspect most of the typical cheap air quality valves won't work. I may bite the bullet and move up to the very expensive co2 safe ones.
Fishbulb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 04:39 AM   #9
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (175/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,087
Default

I have been using the Tetratec for my DIY lines. No expensive equipment here (yet). They work fine for at least a couple of months, then I just replace them. For pressurized CO2, you might want to invest in something better.

http://fins.actwin.com/aquatic-plant.../msg00339.html
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 02:54 PM   #10
Momotaro
Doesn't like Kool-Aid
 
Momotaro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hawthorne, New Jersey
Posts: 10,125
Default

Don't play around. Get a decent check valve!

You spent almost $90 on a regulator and now you are looking to get off cheap with a $1.49 check valve? Once water gets into the regulator, it is shot. There goes your first $90 and the next $90 to replace it.

Find a decent CO2 resistant check valve! You will not regret it!

Mike
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Momotaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 04:05 PM   #11
compulsion
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
compulsion's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 524
Send a message via MSN to compulsion
Default

like momo said, get a good one, its all to the good picking up a cheapo check valve, but your gonna be pretty narked when your whole tank empties over the floor, into your sol etc etc.
__________________
55US Gallon Medium Planted | 36x15x24Tall
PH 7.0 - 7.2 GH 11
Ehiem 2232 Thermo
2.7WPG 160W 10,000k 5xNO T8's
Sand+Eco Clay, CSM+B Baby Steps + Pres.Co2
compulsion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 05:46 PM   #12
Rolo
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 1,717
Default

I use the penn plax checkvalve and it has never failed me.

This kind of goes with your other post concerning a pH controller. You will only need to deal with back siphoning if you get a contoller since. The only time water can backsiphon is when the CO2 is off. If you just leave it on 24/7 (Which most people do) then there is constant pressure and you won't have to worry about backsiphoning. You can save alot of $ from an expensive pH controller and checkvalve.

Does anyone know if the Milwaukee regulator prevents end-of-tank-dumps. If it doesn't I will then still invest in a checkvalve b/c that is another senario that water can backsiphon. If you make sure your tank never runs empty though, this won't be a problem.
Rolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 05:51 PM   #13
Scorpion
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Scorpion's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 637
Default

My cheapo WalMart brand valve still works ok after almost a year.
__________________
Robert
ESTJ (v)
EPC Member #27
Scorpion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 08:24 PM   #14
aquatic-store.com
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
aquatic-store.com's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis Missouri
Posts: 598
Default

denerelle makes a nice one co2 proof or we sell a metal one to. this thing is thick!!
__________________
Marcus S Russo
JBJ powerheads buy 2 GET 1 FREE
LIVE PLANTS
Co2 supplies Largest on the net.
Dupla substrate heaters
http://www.water-testers.com.com
<p>Enter the 2005 Photo contest and win lighting, co2 supplies and more. </p>


http://www.aquatic-store.com/index2.html
aquatic-store.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you use check valve on the pressurized CO2 tubing ? Ironfin Equipment 11 09-25-2004 06:32 AM
check valve edo DIY 1 06-08-2004 05:49 AM
Check Valves lokobreed Equipment 21 05-06-2004 03:26 AM
Where to buy a co2 check valve? corigan Equipment 5 02-28-2004 05:36 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012