2 tanks one C02 Bottle
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2004, 07:36 PM   #1
AlexPerez
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sarasota, FL.
Posts: 193
Send a message via AIM to AlexPerez
Default

I have the milwaukee MA957 with the SMS122 PH controller and
I'm running the output from the bubble counter into a T-splitter
and one C02 line to each of my 55 G tanks.
In my 4 WPG tank I'm using the Power Recator from Plantguild
and set the PH controller to 6.7 KH is 5.
In my 2.5 WPG tank I'm runnig the other C02 line into a powerhead
which has a plastic air control valve to adjust the C02 flow rate.
The PH goes from about about 6.6 in the morning to about 7.0 in the evening and the KH is at 3 (lots of driftwood).

Will this setup work over the long run. I have been reading a lot of the post and keep on thinking I need to change the setup. I wanted to control
both tanks with the one sms122 and so far it seems to be working somewhat. Any advice on how I can improve on this.
Or should I give up on trying to controll both tanks with one SMS122?
__________________
75G Planted,Pressurized CO2, ADA ,TEK T-5 Lighting (6X54W)
55G Planted, Shrimp only (Mix),P.CO2, eco/moon sand, 55WX2 AHS.
20G planted, Shrimp only(B.Bee), P.CO2, eco, 55W AHS kit in jebo fixture.
6G planted, Shrimp only(Tiger),P. CO2, eco, 14W AHS kit.
www.aquadad.com
AlexPerez is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-19-2004, 08:32 PM   #2
SCMurphy
PT Biologist
 
SCMurphy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Maryland USA
Posts: 3,211
Default

So you are diverting CO2 away from the tank that has the controller, and giving it to the tank that doesn't. So the controller calls for CO2, the solenoid opens up, both tanks get CO2, untill the controller says the high light tank has enough. I can see how it works I just don't see the point, other than the Milwaukee system only has one bubble counter and one solenoid.

I'm a little behind the automation curve on this one. I have one regulator, no solenoid, 2 "Y's", 3 bubble counters, and 3 needle valves for three tanks, and no controller.
__________________
Sean

Aquascape? I'm a crypt farmer.

It's a fine line between fishing and standing on the shore looking like an idiot.

That IS an aquascape, it's titled "The Vacant Lot".
SCMurphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2004, 04:09 AM   #3
Daemonfly
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Daemonfly's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 355
Default

It should be able to work. You'd just have to pay more attention to the non-controller tank and adjust as necessary.
Daemonfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cloudy tanks aychamo Algae 5 07-29-2004 04:07 PM
Old tanks (how long do the seals hold?) fedge Equipment 2 06-14-2004 11:29 PM
Internal inline reactor ... providing DIY CO2 for larger tanks Wasserpest General Planted Tank Discussion 2 06-02-2004 06:27 PM
Lighting for 4 tanks reddstagg Lighting 3 02-04-2004 09:50 PM
500g CO2 bottle: how long should it last? pcspinheiro Equipment 5 04-22-2003 11:57 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012