Riccia! S Repens
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Planted Nano Tanks


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-21-2014, 06:13 AM   #1
twone21
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: bay area
Posts: 81
Default

Riccia! S Repens


Can riccia survive without co2? Anyone ever try using this in a low tech as a carpet? I currently have it in a high tech and it is growing very well both floating and tied to rocks.
Same question for s Repens. can it survive in low tech?
Thanks in advance for the help!
twone21 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-21-2014, 07:47 AM   #2
Master503
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (51/96%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 620
Default

In past I used to have riccia in tank without co2 and let it float. It was grow like crazy.
Master503 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2014, 08:31 AM   #3
johnson18
Wannabe Guru
 
johnson18's Avatar
 
PTrader: (21/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 1,225
Default Riccia! S Repens

Riccia will do more than survive without co2. This covers almost half of my 55 & is about 3" thick in most areas!


I've also got S. repens in the same tank. It took a while to become established, came from Petsmart. Now it just keeps chugging along. Definitely not growing super fast though.
johnson18 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2014, 11:37 AM   #4
twone21
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: bay area
Posts: 81
Default

Very cool! Thats a huge mat you got there . Wondering if you have any submerged riccia? Cause riccia floating can get co2 from the air.
twone21 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2014, 05:26 PM   #5
talontsiawd
Planted Tank Guru
 
talontsiawd's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 4,316
Send a message via AIM to talontsiawd
Default

I have had submerged ricca do well in a fairly low light tank without CO2. S. repens survived but doesn't do well in the same tank, I think it's a light issue more than a CO2 issue but it's worth a try.
talontsiawd is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2014, 05:28 PM   #6
chunkychun
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: fl
Posts: 359
Default s.repens

my s.repens with no co2 and aquasoil/flourite mix. carpeted fine, slower growth but did ok.
__________________
chunkychun is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2014, 06:04 AM   #7
twone21
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: bay area
Posts: 81
Default

chunky how many watts is your light and what is your tank size??
twone21 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2014, 01:06 PM   #8
chunkychun
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: fl
Posts: 359
Default

13watt over a 3 gallon tank
__________________
chunkychun is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2014, 08:37 PM   #9
GMYukonon24s
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MICHIGAN
Posts: 3,124
Default

I've never had a problem growing Riccia without CO2 either floating or submerged. Before you know it you'll have a ton of it. Stauro growing it emmersed so I can't answer that.
__________________
110g Tropical Community & Sakura Shrimp
55g BN Breeding Grounds, Peacock Gudgeons, Panda, Pygmies, & Smudge Spot Cories, Rili Shrimp
10g RCS and show guppies

MIAPG - Come join us - Plantedtank - MI - Greatlakesaquaria
GMYukonon24s is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2014, 10:38 PM   #10
twone21
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: bay area
Posts: 81
Default

sweet! Im currently growing it out in high tech tank very well. gonna move it to low tech. Hopefully it will stay healthy. Thanks for your input. Makes me feel less anxious about moving the riccia and stauro
twone21 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012