T8s & T12s
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2004, 03:50 PM   #1
Capt.
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 175
Default

Is it ok to mix one of each of these bulbs? Specifically, I have a 2 foot shop light with a magnetic ballast. I want to use one t8 powerglo that I have from a different tank and one daylight deluxe that is in there already.
Capt. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-17-2004, 03:54 PM   #2
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (175/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,066
Default

I couldn't get mine to work like that. Theoretically, T8's are backwards compatible with magnetic ballasts. But when mixing one T8 and one T12 in a shoplight, they were really dim. I should try to replace both bulbs with T8's...
Just try it out and see if it works?
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 06:02 PM   #3
Capt.
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 175
Default

Hmmm...that's not what I was hoping to hear. Guess I will have to try it out for myself and see what happens.

I'm planning on buying a retrofit 55 watt that will replace the 20 watt powerglo I have now. In a week to two weeks I will be able to see for myself, but if anyone has any experiences please share.
Capt. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 06:28 PM   #4
compulsion
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
compulsion's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 524
Send a message via MSN to compulsion
Default

wasser is right.. u might aswell just buy another new bulb to replace the T5 with a T8... why would u want to mix and match these anyways? ... my personal advice.. stick to all things compatible. i dunno if its a fire risk, but im sure it possibly might be.. im sure a bulb which you have in T5 will be cheaper in T8 than your house insurance per month
__________________
55US Gallon Medium Planted | 36x15x24Tall
PH 7.0 - 7.2 GH 11
Ehiem 2232 Thermo
2.7WPG 160W 10,000k 5xNO T8's
Sand+Eco Clay, CSM+B Baby Steps + Pres.Co2
compulsion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 08:47 PM   #5
Capt.
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 175
Default

Compulsion where did you get t5 from? I don't have any t5 nor did I mention it.

What I have is one t12 daylight deluxe and one t12 plant & aquarium bulb that I am currently using. I also have a t8 powerglo on another tank that I am very impressed with. I want to use the powerglo but the problem is that t8 bulbs are more expensive because I can only find them at fish stores.

Edit: should also note that all are 20 watt bulbs.
Capt. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 10:38 PM   #6
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

You cant mix T8 x T12 bulbs with most magnetic ballasts... you get flicker, dim bulbs, or they wont light at all. You might be able to get away with it on an Electronic Ballast, but you might as well just buy another T8 instead. Check Walmart.. the one in my area was selling Aqua Glo bulbs for $9 Canadian (24" bulb)
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2004, 03:34 AM   #7
Capt.
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 175
Default

That's not a bad deal at all! Thanks for the suggestion I am definitely going to check wal-mart out.

I know t8s are brighter than t12s so I wouldn't mind maximizing my light. I already have a good reflector but my reds are very intense. I have a feeling if I use two good bulbs they will get brighter.
Capt. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 02:42 AM   #8
hubbahubbahehe
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fremont, California
Posts: 1,315
Default

can you place T12 bulbs into fixtures that were made for T8 bulbs (electronic ballasts)??
__________________
Eheim Pimp Club Member #32
hubbahubbahehe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 05:53 AM   #9
ninoboy
Wannabe Guru
 
ninoboy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Las Vegas , Nevada
Posts: 1,261
Default

We need Gulf to jump in on this one I haven't tried it yet but I read that you could. I read that the supposedly 40watts T-12 bulbs are actually 34 watts because of the energy saving something reg. Is this true?
ninoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 08:16 AM   #10
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

Electronic ballasts should be fine as long as they are rated for the appropriate wattage.
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 05:42 PM   #11
hubbahubbahehe
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fremont, California
Posts: 1,315
Default

so ok, correct me if I'm wrong. Now, Using a fixture that was made for T8 bulbs (Electronic ballast 2 x 32 watt) , and fitting it with the easier to find T12 bulbs (40 watts), The T8 ballast would actually be driving the T12 bulbs at 32 watts
__________________
Eheim Pimp Club Member #32
hubbahubbahehe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 07:08 PM   #12
equilibrium
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, Mich.
Posts: 89
Default

The ballast determines the wattage. So, yes, you would be under-driving the bulbs.
__________________
Eheim Pimp Club Member #10
25 gal. Planted - SeaClear, Eheim 2026 Pro II, Retro Eclipse 2 hood w/1 x 65 watt CF & 2 x 15 watt NO, Hagen CO2, Eco-Complete
equilibrium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 10:39 PM   #13
ninoboy
Wannabe Guru
 
ninoboy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Las Vegas , Nevada
Posts: 1,261
Default

I use Advance ballast 4F32T8. On the back of it there is a list of info when using this ballast with other bulbs. It lists the 40 watts bulb on there and it draws more amp. but has higher temperature. Does this mean that the bulb is still be driven at 40 watts and overwork the ballast (higher temp.)?
ninoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012