diy siphon break
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY

Old 03-16-2004, 06:30 PM   #1
hubbahubbahehe
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)

hi , on my diy co2 line ....my tetratec check valves cracked and broke....and then my penn plax check valves don't even work....so i thought to myself,....there must be a better way!! then i vaguely remember that if you just put a loop above the water line, then that can prevent siphoning too.... can anyone verify this?
hubbahubbahehe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-16-2004, 06:44 PM   #2
SCMurphy
PT Biologist

PTrader: (4/100%)

Not in a CO2 line, the CO2 will dissolve forming a vacuum that sucks the water all the way back to your CO2 source.

Aquascape? I'm a crypt farmer.

It's a fine line between fishing and standing on the shore looking like an idiot.

That IS an aquascape, it's titled "The Vacant Lot".
SCMurphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 06:49 PM   #3
ninoboy
Wannabe Guru

Man, how did you break so many check valves so soon? I tried making a loop above water level (1 loop onlY) and then unplugged the tube from the bottle (w/o check valve). The suction created was too strong and basically sucked the water over the loop and started the syphon effect. I'm not sure if more loops would work.

Do you use a gas seperator or bubble counter ? If you do, put the check valve after it pass those items. Using either one will help reduce the moisture build up inside the check valve.
ninoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 07:18 PM   #4
Wasserpest
Are these real?

PTrader: (173/100%)