Aquarium timer using Irrigation computer - Page 3
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2008, 10:38 PM   #31
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (172/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,051
Default

I just placed the order, so I don't have them yet. Plus not much time at the moment. But I will just solder them most likely, like I did with the delay timer relays.

They are too big to fit inside a power strip, so I need to find some neat way to assemble and combine the relays and power strip and controller. Maybe some board (piece of wood) that can be hung on the wall or inside the stand. With all those cables going to one place it will be difficult to make it look neat.
Wasserpest is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-05-2008, 11:11 PM   #32
Gatekeeper
Planted Tank VIP
 
Gatekeeper's Avatar
 
PTrader: (94/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 6,568
Default

What about something like this WP to hide all the stuff inside and mount the controller on the front.

http://www.radioshack.com/family/ind...032058.2032230

You may need to still mount the power strip outside. Not sure how big it is, but you can certainly hide the relays at least.
__________________
Gatekeeper is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 11:43 PM   #33
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (172/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,051
Default

Hehe, that's the thing... besides the controller and the power strip you don't have much, just 4 little relays maybe, so that box would probably be overkill. I think mounting all those things onto a board will work, the ugly part will be all the power cables plugging into the power strip.

I will post pictures when there is some progress...
Wasserpest is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 03:52 PM   #34
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (172/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,051
Default

There has been progress. An hour or two of soldering didn't sound really enjoyable, so the stuff has been sitting under my desk for - ooops - two months. Last night I finally found some time and dedication and soldered it all together. I will post pictures and stuff after making sure it works as expected, but so far, so good. Maybe I start another thread to get rid of all the startup fluff.
Wasserpest is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 04:53 PM   #35
Augus
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Garden Grove, California
Posts: 133
Default

Great news WP, can't wait to see the whole setup and pics.
Augus is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 06:02 PM   #36
Gatekeeper
Planted Tank VIP
 
Gatekeeper's Avatar
 
PTrader: (94/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 6,568
Default

how much did you end up spending?
__________________
Gatekeeper is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 06:55 PM   #37
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (172/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,051
Default

$35 for the irrigation controller.
$3.33 for each relay --> total of $13. (there might be cheaper options)
$.70 for each outlet --> total of $2.

Not counting wires and screws which can be salvaged from other things, it adds up to ~$50. A bit more expensive than a similar solution combining mechanical and electronic timers, but much more convenient and compact.

I still need to make it look nice with a front plate, and box it all in, but I might be able to finish it Sunday and will post some pictures next week.
Wasserpest is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 05:22 PM   #38
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (172/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,051
Default

Just in case you wondered where the pictures are... had a little setback. Two of the four relays that I used in the setup are no good. One is shorted (which the timer accurately reported!) and the other one is open. Should have taken a minute and tested them when I got them. So now I have to rip that thing apart and replace the two relays...

Other than that, I love the features and easy programming of the irrigation controller.
Wasserpest is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 05:55 PM   #39
Gatekeeper
Planted Tank VIP
 
Gatekeeper's Avatar
 
PTrader: (94/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 6,568
Default

I thought there was six relays? I must be confused.

So are you just modifying a standard power strip and bypassing the hot legs to each outlet with the relay? Or are you using standard household outlets?

I am curious how this thing will look when done.
__________________
Gatekeeper is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 10:59 PM   #40
colinthebassist
Planted Member
 
colinthebassist's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 237
Default

Here is what I'll be using to control my tank. 64 Outputs and 32 Inputs may seem like to many, but thats not what I say.

__________________
33G: Eheim 2224, Finally have pressurized Co2 and Reactor
colinthebassist is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 11:39 PM   #41
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (172/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,051
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gmccreedy View Post
I thought there was six relays? I must be confused.

So are you just modifying a standard power strip and bypassing the hot legs to each outlet with the relay? Or are you using standard household outlets?

I am curious how this thing will look when done.
I bought 6 relays, but just want to use 4 with this little setup. Keep in mind two things: 1) the relays will switch two ways (DT - double throw) so one relay can toggle two outlets, and 2) even though there are 6 zones, I want to use one or two directly (without relay) with water change solenoids. So I figure 4 zones with relays to switch 6 outlets, one for water change, and one spare for some other future use.

I will draw something up to make it easier understandable.

I gave up on modifying the standard power strip, using regular double outlets now.
Wasserpest is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 06:51 PM   #42
Gatekeeper
Planted Tank VIP
 
Gatekeeper's Avatar
 
PTrader: (94/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 6,568
Default

What happened with this little contraption?
__________________
Gatekeeper is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 09:17 PM   #43
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (172/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,051
Default

Here is the link to the final project: http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/di...ontroller.html

It is one of the few DIY projects that worked out perfectly. Not sure for how long the little relays hold up, but so far, not a single problem at all.

Thanks to the battery backup it is holding time extremely well, not affected by power outages.

Thanks for asking... very recommended if you don't mind soldering a few wires. I had a few PM's asking for specifics... don't be shy and post your solution if you built one.

Last edited by Wasserpest; 08-04-2008 at 05:07 PM..
Wasserpest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012