Diy co2?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2004, 03:41 AM   #1
drillsar
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 31
Default

Ok I did this, made the mixture but bottles are soft my friend said the bottles should be hard, whats wrong?
drillsar is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-19-2004, 04:50 AM   #2
ninoboy
Wannabe Guru
 
ninoboy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Las Vegas , Nevada
Posts: 1,261
Default

You only need hard bottle if you gonna connect the output to something that can create too much suction that might collapse the bottle.
ninoboy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-19-2004, 12:16 PM   #3
drillsar
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 31
Default

So how do I know this is working?
drillsar is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-19-2004, 12:33 PM   #4
cruizer
Planted Member
 
cruizer's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Valparaiso, IN
Posts: 173
Send a message via AIM to cruizer Send a message via MSN to cruizer Send a message via Yahoo to cruizer
Default

When CO2 is dissipated into your aquarium.
__________________
Check out my AquariBlog for tank progress and updates!
cruizer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-19-2004, 04:29 PM   #5
malkore
Planted Tank Guru
 
malkore's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 2,165
Default

watch for CO2 bubbles entering the aquarium. once you see that, start monitoring pH and watch for it to slowly drop.
If it doesn't, you're not dissolving any CO2.
__________________
Malkore
Filstar XP2 PIMP #3
Visit my aquarium pages - see specs on my tanks, and photos of how they've evolved
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2004, 12:39 AM   #6
drillsar
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 31
Default

I see bubbles in the reactor and did a ph reading its 7.0. So should I do another one in a hour?
drillsar is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2004, 03:03 AM   #7
ninoboy
Wannabe Guru
 
ninoboy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Las Vegas , Nevada
Posts: 1,261
Default

Test the pH early in the morning before the light is on and another one in the evening before the light is off. Also the pH and Kh of your tap water.
ninoboy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2004, 01:31 PM   #8
Clone
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Clone's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lockport, NY
Posts: 655
Default

This is sort of along the the same line, so I figured I ask here instead of starting another CO2 thread. I was in the grocery store and saw the one gallon orange juice and thought that the container would make a good vessel for a DIY CO2. It's has a good firm handle which would make it easy to take in and out from the cabinet. My concern is if a one gallon container is too much for a 29 gallon tank. Then again I guess I can decrease the reactants to cut down on the CO2. I was going to take a basic mixture and multiply by however many liters in a gallon. Any comments or suggestions would be great.
__________________
Clone is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2004, 05:24 PM   #9
drillsar
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 31
Default

I have just one bottle hooked up to a 55gal. I wont get any major changes correct? I have to add another bottle correct?
drillsar is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2004, 05:31 PM   #10
ninoboy
Wannabe Guru
 
ninoboy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Las Vegas , Nevada
Posts: 1,261
Default

I used to run 2 bottles for my 55 and getting close to 1bps. Unless your KH is extremely low, I doubt there will be any major changes.

Clone, check first whether the juice bottle is airtight (the cap). I tried different bottles before and some of the looked air tight but not.
ninoboy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2004, 03:31 PM   #11
malkore
Planted Tank Guru
 
malkore's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 2,165
Default

Clone,

I run 2 1gallon bottles on a 20 gallon, and it's about the right amount of CO2 to keep 25ppm. 1 gallon bottle should be good on a 20 gallon
__________________
Malkore
Filstar XP2 PIMP #3
Visit my aquarium pages - see specs on my tanks, and photos of how they've evolved
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2004, 11:08 PM   #12
Clone
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Clone's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lockport, NY
Posts: 655
Default

malkore,

What kind of one gallon container do you use? Orange Juice, Milk?
__________________
Clone is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2004, 07:46 PM   #13
malkore
Planted Tank Guru
 
malkore's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 2,165
Default

mine are glass jugs used for fermenting cider, mead, etc. If you remember years ago you could buy glass jugs of apple juice in a grocery store, with a metal cap....well these are pretty much the exact same jugs.
They work great because they're easy to clean since glass isn't porous, and I'm able to buy standard size rubber stoppers, and I just drill a hole and stuff some rigid tubing in there, and attach my airline that way. No messing with silicone sealant, plastic caps and bulkheads...just plain and simple, but functional.
__________________
Malkore
Filstar XP2 PIMP #3
Visit my aquarium pages - see specs on my tanks, and photos of how they've evolved
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2004, 10:02 PM   #14
Clone
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Clone's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lockport, NY
Posts: 655
Default

Great idea I'm going to have to look around.
__________________
Clone is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012