Calculating Co2 levels
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2003, 04:31 PM   #1
BonesCJ
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 387
Default

I have a test kit with both KH and PH tests, how exactly do i figure out how much Co2 I have in the tank? And will argonite sand (crushed shells) have any effect on those levels?
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt
Member # 64
90 Gallon Low light/Easy Maintenance
BonesCJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-17-2003, 09:54 PM   #2
SNPiccolo5
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
SNPiccolo5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 859
Default

3.6 x KH (in degrees) x 10^(7-pH) is the formula to use. Example pH=7, KH=5. 3.6 x 5 x 10 ^ (7-7) so you would have about 17 ppm CO2.

-Tim
__________________
Tank in transition! 55 gallons, hard water.
SNPiccolo5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 01:33 AM   #3
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru
 
m.lemay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Naugatuck, CT.
Posts: 2,647
Default

Or if doing all that math is too much like work, you can use one of the charts on the link below.

CO2 charts

Marcel
__________________
FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 01:53 AM   #4
vince60
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 37
Default

http://www.csd.net/~cgadd/aqua/art_plant_co2chart.htm this works nice.
vince60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 08:28 PM   #5
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru
 
m.lemay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Naugatuck, CT.
Posts: 2,647
Default

Vince ,Is that a picture of your setup. I never saw a regulator quite like that and is that a bubble couter attached to it on the right side? Who makes that setup? or did you build it yourself? Hows it working for you?

Marcel
__________________
FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2003, 01:06 AM   #6
vince60
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 37
Default

ya its my setup, the t handle type reg was to much of a pain , so i found a used, but rebuilt flowmeter. Its not a kit I put it together my self. I had it in my 37gal for 4 years and its been on my 125 for a year.
vince60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copper levels in CSM+B? Laith Fertilizers and Water Parameters 2 09-17-2004 07:15 PM
Question on my KH, Ph levels Poohbee Fertilizers and Water Parameters 4 07-02-2004 10:39 AM
does frozen foods up the phosphate levels? abc Fertilizers and Water Parameters 7 06-14-2004 05:39 AM
Fertilizer in my tap water? High Nitrate Levels. bklock General Planted Tank Discussion 3 02-18-2004 03:26 AM
Raising CO2 levels? Grendel Fertilizers and Water Parameters 3 02-14-2003 01:25 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012