a few substrate questions
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2004, 08:20 PM   #1
compulsion
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
compulsion's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 524
Send a message via MSN to compulsion
Default

i have recently set up my 45g tank and put aquarium sand in, i never cleaned it and its taken weeks to come out of my system, however its still a bit cloudy, i can see to the back (15inch) but its pretty dim, does anyone suggest that this will settle in time?, ive done 2 water changes since i set the tank up 50/50 each time..
__________________
55US Gallon Medium Planted | 36x15x24Tall
PH 7.0 - 7.2 GH 11
Ehiem 2232 Thermo
2.7WPG 160W 10,000k 5xNO T8's
Sand+Eco Clay, CSM+B Baby Steps + Pres.Co2
compulsion is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-09-2004, 10:06 PM   #2
valiko
Algae Grower
 
valiko's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 35
Default

What colour is it?

Is it white cloudy or green?
valiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2004, 10:41 PM   #3
compulsion
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
compulsion's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 524
Send a message via MSN to compulsion
Default

white cloudy, its definatly sand because when it was bad you would see it pouring from the top, only to be recirculated again.
__________________
55US Gallon Medium Planted | 36x15x24Tall
PH 7.0 - 7.2 GH 11
Ehiem 2232 Thermo
2.7WPG 160W 10,000k 5xNO T8's
Sand+Eco Clay, CSM+B Baby Steps + Pres.Co2
compulsion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2004, 01:24 PM   #4
Yves514
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 60
Default

When I first setup my tank with PlaySand, I had to do at least 3x 90% water changes to remove most of the dust out of my water. Then I think I did one or two 50% water changes after planting. I would do a really good water change in your tank if you don't have any fish in there yet...

PS. It does clear up a bit but that can take a long time and many filter cleanings.
Yves514 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2004, 02:32 PM   #5
ninoboy
Wannabe Guru
 
ninoboy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Las Vegas , Nevada
Posts: 1,261
Default

What kind of sands are you using? Mine took about 2-3 days and completely clear. But I ran 2 extra filters full power and filled with floss and total gph was over 20 times the tank's size.
ninoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reef Tank Conversion - Concerns and Questions Silent Running General Planted Tank Discussion 18 10-04-2004 01:14 PM
New planted tank questions melbourne General Planted Tank Discussion 7 09-23-2004 03:12 PM
Poop on substrate soil/rock/sand mitchell2345 Substrate 9 08-10-2004 01:29 AM
substrate questions dave75 General Planted Tank Discussion 9 06-18-2003 11:00 AM
Nutrients in Substrate aquaphish General Planted Tank Discussion 6 03-10-2003 01:48 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012