Help on Budget lighting for 110g
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Low Tech Forum

Old 01-25-2008, 12:32 PM   #1
ranodide

PTrader: (0/0%)

Help on Budget lighting for 110g

I am new to planted tank keeping. I recently aquired a 110 gallon x-high tank (48LX18WX30H) and have only one 48" flourescent light atop it. I am looking to go for a heavily planted style, and know that i need sufficient light and possibly CO2. I am planning on building a wooden canopy for the top of the tank and considered adding 8, 48" daylight bulbs in dual strip shop lights that the Home Depot sells for 8.00 each for a total of $32 for the fixtures and about 24 for bulbs. At 40Watts each (40x8) I get a total of 320Watts.

Is this enough, the right type(i plan to use the daylight and sunshine 5000K and 6500K bulbs)

I really appreciate anyone's input on this.
Thanks,
Roland
ranodide is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-25-2008, 01:06 PM   #2
KurtG
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (2/100%)

I don't know how effective normal output fluorescents would be on such a deep tank. I really think you are going to need more intense light.

You are not going to find anything more intense near your $60 bucks I suspect.

I did a diy 175 watt MH on my 20g (long time ago) and I think theinduistrial ballasts were in the $30 range as were the bulbs ($60 total). You might look into doing a two bulb MH diy setup but expect you'd be in the $120 range. Check the reef boards (reefs org or reefcentral com) to see if there are any budget setups.

edit: I forgot the MH sockets were about $15 each too.
Old 01-25-2008, 01:13 PM   #3
Gatekeeper
Planted Tank VIP

PTrader: (96/100%)

There is always www.ahsupply.com. can get a decent setup through them and their reflectors are outstanding.