Finally! Take 3 (pg15 or 16)!
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Low Tech Forum

Old 01-19-2008, 10:24 PM   #1
skabooya
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)

Finally! Take 3 (pg15 or 16)!

After waiting since May 07 I am finally going to start my 32gal tank.

My husband bought me the 32gal in may for my b-day. I couldnt play with it then because I had just gotten back from University and the house was a disgrase. Then we went on our honeymoon, came back and I started reasearching substrates and pricing them out.

September came and I really wanted to start a new tank (already had my 20gal going). I fell in love with nano's and I already had everything I needed so my 4gal planted was born. I am a substitute teacher so when september came I was working almost steady.

December I finally decided on the substrate I wanted to use (flourite) and after talking to many lfs sources and looking online I went with my cheapest option for shipping to Canada and ordered from aquariumplants.com.
My lfs wanted $74 per bag YIKES!

My substrate was supposted to show up December twenty something, but it never did so after working it out with the wonderful people at aquariumplants.com They re-shipped with some free root tabs Jan 15.
I should recieve my shipment this monday January 21, according to ups.

Lighting over this tank is 40watts of NO flourescent. 1.25wpg total or approx 1.1 getting into the tank.

Filtration will be fluval 404 canister filter (I already have it). I need to buy new plastic tubing for it because what i have is too short (tubes to not reach top of tank).

I have lovely soft ph neutral-acidic water. 6.5 on average out of the tap.

Plants:
this is where i am having issues. I would love to have nice tall plants in the background but i want them narrow leaf like vals nana.