Estimating C02 injection w/o Ph Monitor- help!
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Low Tech Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2008, 08:20 AM   #1
iceterran
Algae Grower
 
iceterran's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brookline
Posts: 59
Default

Estimating C02 injection w/o Ph Monitor- help!


Hey guys! First of all I would like to say hello to everyone, because I just joined this Forum. This may be a stupid question, but i think you guys will forgive me, considering it's my first post. I bought a C02 system second hand, and the Milwaukee Ph Meter/probe is not working at all. I'm running a totally Customized 75 gal tank with a drilled box overflow, leading to a 29 Gal wet/dry sump I built. For lighting I have a Current Orbit 48" 4X 65W PC fixture ( I know it's really for SW) I was wondering, assuming I'm releasing C02 at about 1 bubble per second- how long would it be safe to release C02? Could i safely set the solenoid on the same timer as the lights? or would I have to minimize the time of C02 injection to maintain good PH. Any insight or experience is appreciated.
iceterran is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-05-2008, 08:36 AM   #2
epicfish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (266/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 9,417
Default

Drop checker.
epicfish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2008, 09:02 AM   #3
iceterran
Algae Grower
 
iceterran's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brookline
Posts: 59
Default

Thanks epic, I had no idea such a thing even existed =P When would be the best time to test the C02? And does it make sense testing this before I have any plants? I'm assuming the Plants C02 consumption is meant to be factored into the Green/Yellow/Blue indication. Thanks
iceterran is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2008, 07:08 AM   #4
yy17616433
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: asdf
Posts: 4
Lightbulb

That is sure!!!
〖^o^〗^o^ 〖^o^〗
Highschool of the dead
naruto
yy17616433 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2008, 07:48 AM   #5
ValorG
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
ValorG's Avatar
 
PTrader: (59/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Valley Stream, NY
Posts: 612
Default

You can use this chart using KH and PH. That size of a tank with a sump You will probably have to be at least in the 3bps+ area. Green is where you want to be on the chart. http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/at...-co2-chart.gif
ValorG is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2008, 08:16 AM   #6
mikeb210
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
mikeb210's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 344
Default

I was told that if you run the co2 constantly, as long as you buffer the kH, it will actually be more stable than switching it on and off (not counting a pH controller, which I imagine is best). I am trying it now, buffering with a bag of aragonite stuffed in the filter. So far so good. My pH does fluctuate, between 7.0 in the middle of the day and 6.8 around 1130 at night(lights go out at 8). I'm starting to think that this is not as big an issue as some folks will have you believe. Just my opinion
mikeb210 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2008, 09:08 AM   #7
epicfish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (266/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 9,417
Default

You don't need to buffer. Just run an airstone at night to outgas the CO2 so you don't kill your fish.

But I run mine on a solenoid and it's quite stable.

And test it a few hours after the CO2 is on...test it now to get a rough idea of the levels you're at and you can fine tune once you have plants.
epicfish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012