How to clean the sponge filter?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2007, 03:45 AM   #1
lousicoolboy
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: brooklyn, ny
Posts: 4
Default

How to clean the sponge filter?


sorry for being ignorance, but i've never use Sponge filter before. can anyone tell me how to clean it without swilling out the good bacteria?
thanks
lousicoolboy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-21-2007, 03:45 AM   #2
Green Leaf Aquariums
Sponsor
 
Green Leaf Aquariums's Avatar
 
PTrader: (86/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SWAMP
Posts: 4,699
Default

clean it in a bucket of aquarium water.
Green Leaf Aquariums is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2007, 05:10 AM   #3
crisrisl
Planted Member
 
crisrisl's Avatar
 
PTrader: (22/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 189
Send a message via MSN to crisrisl
Default

Yup, what Orlando said. Next time you're doing a water change, take the sponge out/off and squeeze it in a bucket of water that you removed from the aquarium. It is amazing how dirty that bucket of water can get just from that too
crisrisl is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2007, 05:46 AM   #4
lousicoolboy
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: brooklyn, ny
Posts: 4
Default

thanks
and 1 more question
how do you guys clean the waste sitting around the substrate during water change?
lousicoolboy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2007, 12:41 PM   #5
wearsbunnyslippers
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
wearsbunnyslippers's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: South Africa
Posts: 326
Default

get an aquarium gravel vacuum, be careful not to stir up the gravel too much, or hold the pipe you are siphoning from just high enough to suck up the mulm but not low enough to suck up the gravel.
wearsbunnyslippers is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2007, 04:26 AM   #6
jlroar
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lewis Center, OH
Posts: 205
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wearsbunnyslippers View Post
get an aquarium gravel vacuum, be careful not to stir up the gravel too much, or hold the pipe you are siphoning from just high enough to suck up the mulm but not low enough to suck up the gravel.
Hi,

Maybe this is a stupid question wearsbunnyslippers but why not stir up and vacuum the gravel getting all the muck out of their? I have been doing this for over a year now. Mind you I only have river-rock as a bed in my aquarium and do not have layers of different sub-straight. I also have Goldfish in my tank.

James
jlroar is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2007, 04:33 AM   #7
spypet
Planted Tank Guru
 
spypet's Avatar
 
PTrader: (56/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Forest Hills, NY
Posts: 3,297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlroar View Post
Mind you I only have river-rock as a bed in my aquarium and do not have layers of different sub-straight. I also have Goldfish in my tank.
specifically because you have large gravel, and large poop factories for fish,
you need to vacuum much more often than the average planted tank keeper.
large quartz gravel does a poor job hosting the bacteria and microorganisms
helpful at breaking down poop and left over food, thus the junk accumulates.

if you had 3" depth of 1-4mm grain size substrate, preferably volcanic or clay,
you would not need to vacuum at all as long as you also under feed your fish.

so a tank with proper substrate should not be disturbed or the large amount
of mulm (fish & plant debris, bacteria & microorganisms) deep in the substrate
will become water bourne and disturb your fishes health, as well as temporarily
reduce the effectiveness of your substrate as a biological filtration system.


as for how to clean a spong filter - I never squeeze mine.
I place them in a half gallon jar half full of water, then
I close the lid over the jar, and shake it around a while.
I pour out the waste water, then put back the sponges.
spypet is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012