Newbie (low tech maybe)
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Low Tech Forum

Old 12-20-2007, 03:10 PM   #1
andymina
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Newbie (low tech maybe)

Hi guys, I just posted this in the Equipment Section, but I realize that this section may be better. Any Help appreciated!

Hi all.
Great forum! I'm new to the hobby and I love planted tanks. I got my first tank last January and had a roller coaster ride learning all the tricks and figuring out what I wanted. I bought a new setup in may and tried my luck with setting up a planted tank. I did a lot of research and I think got some pretty good equipment. I set up my tank in June and had to move in July, so I left it to my roomate to take care of. Safe to say it died. Well I just set it up in my new place three weeks a go (End of November) from scratch and am excited. I just want to know what you guys think about how I'm doing.

I have a standard 55 gallon tank (48")

I have a Coralife 48" 2x65 watt compact which is just over 2 watts per gallon.

I have about 3-4" of Eco-complete substrate on the bottom.

An Eheim 2236(? the one that handles 60 gallons) canister

Right now I have no CO2 set-up.

I am nervous about setting up CO2 and have reservations about a DIY: I'm not that handy and have a busy schedule so I know I will have trouble changing it.

Right now I have two crypt wendtiis (red and bronze) a water sprite, a bacopa, ozelot sword and another sword, and 3 anubias that were left over from the first set up. The leaves on them are hurting but the root structure is very healthy. (The swords and cryots are doing well but the bacopa and sprite haven't grown in three weeks)

I have been using a cap full of "Flourish" fertilizer a week.