DIY CO2 reactor problem
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Low Tech Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2007, 01:10 AM   #1
mjenk430
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Unionville, Va
Posts: 8
Default

DIY CO2 reactor problem


I just built a CO2 reactor for my new tank using a Rio 200 PH and a gravel vac tube. It seems to be working fine, except when I first plug the pump in. I have to either disconnect the reactor or turn it upside down to get the pump going. Is that what is meant by "vapor locked"?

Is there a solution to this problem? I was hoping to put the PH on the same timer as my lights, but if I have to leave the pump running all the time that won't work.

I'm going to use yeast/sugar, not pressurized, so should I just leave it running all the time because of the lower level of CO2 produced, or am I right in thinking that I should have it on a timer?
mjenk430 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-19-2007, 09:52 PM   #2
ValorG
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
ValorG's Avatar
 
PTrader: (59/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Valley Stream, NY
Posts: 612
Default

I have the same prob now, I think we'll have to leave the pump running for the reactor and maybe put a bubbler on a timer to turn on at night.
ValorG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012