Craigslist find of the year!!! Now what...
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Low Tech Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2015, 09:25 PM   #1
Dingleberry
Algae Grower
 
Dingleberry's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 34
Default

Craigslist find of the year!!! Now what...


Just bought a 75 gallon tank off craigslist for $10! It's drilled so all I have to do is patch it. Minus a few scratches it's perfect! Now he question is what should I do with it? Biotope? Community? Discus?
Dingleberry is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2015, 09:39 PM   #2
TheFlyingBear
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 57
Default

Shrimp

begin the swarm
TheFlyingBear is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2015, 10:13 PM   #3
Ziggy
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 220
Default

Amazon biotope....with a massive school of neons.
Ziggy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2015, 11:22 PM   #4
psych
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 403
Default

Congrats on your deal, but this is ridiculous. I can buy a 10 gallon tank for $75 around here if I find a good deal...

I exaggerate a little, but not by much.
psych is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2015, 11:37 PM   #5
goodbytes
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
goodbytes's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Gainesville, Florida
Posts: 601
Default

If I had the space and the money to set up a 75 I'd get Cichlids again. That's the perfect size to get an impressive African Cichlid community going. Planting it would be a trick though. You'd have to go with durable, deep-rooted plants like large swords and Aquatic Onions which have a large bulb and bad-tasting leaves.
goodbytes is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2015, 11:49 PM   #6
Planted_Edge
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Seattle
Posts: 215
Default

^cichlids in a 4ft tank?
I wouldn't , unless it's 6'+ ...8 -10 ft is ideal
You can do it but if you want your cichlids to show their beautiful colors, give them space.

OP, you can plant it just fine.
There's a lot of possibilities...Google 75 gallons planted tank to get some ideas
Planted_Edge is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2015, 11:52 PM   #7
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 10,040
Default

If it is drilled, keep it that way, and run a sump.
Diana is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2015, 12:14 AM   #8
greaser84
Wannabe Guru
 
greaser84's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 1,406
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diana View Post
If it is drilled, keep it that way, and run a sump.
+10 cardinal sin on here but reef tank has my vote.
__________________
greaser84 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2015, 12:48 AM   #9
big b
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: In a fish tank
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy View Post
Amazon biotope....with a massive school of neons.
I second that.
big b is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2015, 01:49 AM   #10
Dingleberry
Algae Grower
 
Dingleberry's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy View Post
Amazon biotope....with a massive school of neons.

I've got a school of 10 neons in my 46. I'm not crazy about them .
Dingleberry is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2015, 02:01 AM   #11
AquaAurora
Planted Tank Guru
 
AquaAurora's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: south eastern PA
Posts: 3,786
Default

Discus tank?
1/2 fill it (35g-ish) and do a riparium or paludarium?
Look up Game and Widldlife laws on keeping local caught fish as pets, if allowed go fishing for some cold water fish and get native aquatic plants like vals, ludwigia and fissidens. Research native fish first to make sure a 75g will be big enough.

Gratz on your great deal! I wish I could get a large tank for so cheap!!! But I don't need anymore tanks, have too many already!
AquaAurora is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2015, 03:41 AM   #12
rballi
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
rballi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (19/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Centennial
Posts: 822
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diana View Post
If it is drilled, keep it that way, and run a sump.

+1

Sumps are the way to go!
__________________
rballi is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2015, 05:29 AM   #13
klibs
Wannabe Guru
 
klibs's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dover, NH
Posts: 1,724
Default

WHY WOULD YOU EVER PATCH A DRILLED TANK???

I would 100% run a sump if my tank was drilled. Overflows suck but drilled tanks with sumps are the best
__________________
75 Gallon Dirty High Tech
29 Gallon Low Tech
klibs is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2015, 11:19 AM   #14
Ziggy
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 220
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dingleberry View Post
I've got a school of 10 neons in my 46. I'm not crazy about them .
Quadruple them.
Ziggy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2015, 05:31 PM   #15
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (79/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 19,532
Default

A drilled tank, with the hole near the top of the tank, can easily be set up with an overflow in the hole, so you can set up a semi-automatic water change system. I had that for awhile, set up with a continuous trickle of water entering the tank, and constant flow out of the overflow. It worked very well.
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Your Location. As precise as you feel comfortable with.
Security Question
While balancing on a piece of wood, two inches by four inches known as a 2x4, John and his friend Sally both spotted a dalmatian inside of a truck with sirens. The animal with John and Sally is a _ _ _?
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012