New Guy!
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion

Old 02-14-2014, 02:35 AM   #1
BonsaiGuy
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)

New Guy!

Hey all!

First post here, and I'm anxious to get started. I've been growing plants, bonsai, for probably about 5 years now, so I've got a bit of a green thumb. My brother (who is big into saltwater aquariums) has always impressed me with his saltwater tanks, so I thought I would give a freshwater planted tank a try. Seems like a great hobby.

So far I've got my 10 gallon tank. I chose a 10 gallon to get me started and introduced to the hobby. I didn't want to go too overboard for my first tank. I've been trying to find a 2 bulb 20 inch T5 online or in a store near me, but have come up short so far.

I've been guided to a good filter that I need to pick up here in a few days.

My biggest question is about the soil. I know things like fluorite and other substrates like that are the way to go, but is there any way I can do this as natural as possible? Could I do a layer of peat, then have a layer of gravel on top of that?

I'll have more questions as you all guide me, all help is appreciated, thanks!
BonsaiGuy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-14-2014, 02:45 AM   #2
Aquaticz
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (3/100%)

Search mineralized dirt

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Aquaticz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2014, 02:46 AM   #3
ctaylor3737
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (33/100%)

Welcome! There is a lot of information on here that will help you find what you need. Also check the trade thread to if your looking for something you can't find

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk