Dart Frog Substrate
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion > Riparium/Terrarium/Vivarium


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2007, 08:48 PM   #1
fourtanks
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 57
Default

Dart Frog Substrate


I'm setting up a 29g dart frog tank. I plan to use gravel on the bottom with sphagnum moss on top. How deep should the gravel and moss be?
fourtanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-30-2007, 12:41 AM   #2
matt s
Planted Member
 
matt s's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 204
Default

2" of gravel and put a tube running down into it then top it off with about 3-4" of moss and pour water down the tube ounce a week to keep it moist.
__________________
Aquariums are like lays potato chips, You can't have just one!

-Owner of many tanks including lots of cichlids everywhere from 5" Angelfish to my 14" Oscars
48 Gallon Planted project:
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/ph...l-journal.html
matt s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 09:54 PM   #3
DBenz
Algae Grower
 
DBenz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Salina, KS / Manhattan, KS
Posts: 52
Default

If I were you, I would use a real substrate instead of the spaghnum moss. While live spaghnum looks cool, I always cover mine up with oak leaves, and this is in my quarintine tanks too.
DBenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012