Research Proposal Ideas....Need some ideas!!
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion

Old 02-11-2014, 04:39 AM   #1
clincoln9
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Research Proposal Ideas....Need some ideas!!

So I'll start by saying that I'm a sophomore in a university as a biochem major. I've been presented with a possible opportunity to conduct a research project of my choosing. Naturally, my first thought was something related to aquariums. I was hoping to get some suggestions on some possible ideas related to and having anything to do with fish tanks, plants, or shrimp.

I want to do something that hasn't been done before. We know the effects of certain compounds on plant growth. We know the role co2 plays in plant growth.

I was thinking possibly something along the lines of selectively breeding shrimp to make a new variety, if there are any left undiscovered. Is it possible there are still unknown varieties? Something else that intrigued me was the genetics of shrimp. To my knowledge, it seems shrimp genetics aren't very scientific and little seems to be known in terms of dominant genes vs recessive and what not.

Research with vertebrates is possible, but just requires a little more paper work.

Just a few possibilities I thought of. Any and all suggestions are welcome!
clincoln9 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-11-2014, 05:28 AM   #2
Raymond S.
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (4/100%)

You could become a "go to" paper/article author if you proved the usefulness of