diy co2 reactor/noise
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2004, 12:26 AM   #1
d28 boy
Algae Grower
 
d28 boy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: arcata, california
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to d28 boy
Default

I was getting sick of the burps and bubble sprays from the canister filter so I built one of the "gravel vac" reactors with a powerhead. It seems to be working beautifully, but I am concerned about the level of noise in the water from the powerhead(from the fish's perspective). Does anyone have information about fish stress related to tank gadgetry? Thanks in advance! Brian
__________________
55 gallon - 4x55watt power compacts
fluval 404 - pressurized co2 - cardinal tetras - SAE's - pleco - platys - corys - amazon swords - crypts - anubias - spirall val
d28 boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-27-2004, 12:36 AM   #2
Aftica
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Aftica's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 364
Default

I don't have an answer - but it is a question I have often wondered about with regard to powerheads (especially those aerating ones... I remember my old Visi-Jets were loud when I opened the aerator etc..)

Most curious.
__________________
Another Flaming Toy I Cannot Afford!
Pimp Member # 112
Afticas DIY-Hood Planted-Tank Adventures.html
Aftica is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2004, 12:39 AM   #3
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

Take the next step and build a DIY External CO2 reactor. You will be so happy that you did. One less thing in the tank and super efficient.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2004, 02:25 AM   #4
d28 boy
Algae Grower
 
d28 boy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: arcata, california
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to d28 boy
Default

yeah, that sounds like the way to go...guess i'm a little nervous about cutting into my filter hose. is it better to place an inline external reactor on the input or output side?
__________________
55 gallon - 4x55watt power compacts
fluval 404 - pressurized co2 - cardinal tetras - SAE's - pleco - platys - corys - amazon swords - crypts - anubias - spirall val
d28 boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2004, 02:35 AM   #5
d28 boy
Algae Grower
 
d28 boy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: arcata, california
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to d28 boy
Default

ok, found what appear to be some good plans...any comments would be appreciated.
http://www.aquaticscape.com/articles/co2reactor.htm
8)
__________________
55 gallon - 4x55watt power compacts
fluval 404 - pressurized co2 - cardinal tetras - SAE's - pleco - platys - corys - amazon swords - crypts - anubias - spirall val
d28 boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2004, 04:03 AM   #6
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (175/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,092
Default

Placing it on the output side should be better for the filter.
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2004, 01:01 AM   #7
d28 boy
Algae Grower
 
d28 boy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: arcata, california
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to d28 boy
Default

okay, i went out and got all the parts for my inline diffusor today. couple of questions...i looked at a picture of rex's diffusor and if i am correct, the co2 enters at the top and the flow is forced downward? that would make sense to keep the co2 in the chamber as long as possible. that means i will probably need an extra length of filter hose, argh, another trip out in the rain! unless anyone has a good reason to place it on the inlet side, my vote is for the output, as i really like how quiet my canister is now that co2 is not going through it...
__________________
55 gallon - 4x55watt power compacts
fluval 404 - pressurized co2 - cardinal tetras - SAE's - pleco - platys - corys - amazon swords - crypts - anubias - spirall val
d28 boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2004, 02:18 AM   #8
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (175/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,092
Default

Still raining up there?

Outlet, yes. CO2 from the top, yes. Another piece of filter hose, yes.

Are you using pressurized CO2?
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2004, 05:07 AM   #9
d28 boy
Algae Grower
 
d28 boy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: arcata, california
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to d28 boy
Default

yeah, although it is tapering off from the BIG wind & rain, that is until Monday or Tuesday when the next one comes in...hopefully it will warm up enough inbetween to mow the lawn...life behind the redwood curtain, love it!
yes i am running pressurized, thanks for the response wasser...
i have had the "inside-the-tank" reactor going for a couple days, but it is aesthetically way too bulky for me, although i feel the absorption is most definitely superior to simply running it into the canister. i will post back after getting the "in-line" up and running.
quick change of subject-i am fertilizing with yamato green-n(n for nitrate, they are real nice folks), but tests show that my nitrate is still only about 2.5ppm...it may get quite expensive using this product to achieve proper nitrate levels, although i am trying to increase it slowly as my tank grows in, got some real nice dwarf hairgrass from aquabid. anybody else had experience with yamato green-n?
lastly, i want to say what an invaluable resource this board is and thanks to all y'all! brian
__________________
55 gallon - 4x55watt power compacts
fluval 404 - pressurized co2 - cardinal tetras - SAE's - pleco - platys - corys - amazon swords - crypts - anubias - spirall val
d28 boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 03:00 AM   #10
R2thaSAR
Algae Grower
 
R2thaSAR's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Stone Mountain
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to R2thaSAR
Default

wait a minit, wouldnt it also work to route the CO2 tube through the bottom of the strainer on the filter and just let the bubbles come up through the filter and into the tank, letting the impeller do the work of getting the bubbles into the water?
__________________
Jamaican Proverb: Rockstone a' rivah battam, it no know how sun hot. Meaning: A person who hasn't experienced something first-hand will not appreciate it fully.
R2thaSAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 05:11 AM   #11
ninoboy
Wannabe Guru
 
ninoboy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Las Vegas , Nevada
Posts: 1,261
Default

Yes if you send it into a canister. A lot of people, including myself don't do this because I heard that the acid could ruin the impeller over time.

I'm really not sure how efficient it is to run it into a HOB/power filter. When I did this, the bubble was chopped by the impeller but it didn't dissove it completely. There were still bubbles going into the power filter and popped on the surface. I would think that this method isn't efficient because it didn't keep the bubbles long enough in the water.
ninoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 05:37 AM   #12
d28 boy
Algae Grower
 
d28 boy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: arcata, california
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to d28 boy
Default

I ran mine through the fluval 404 for several months and it worked but the co2 in the canister would burp out every 3 mins or so and most of this was large bubbles headed right into the atmosphere...also created that much more of a "bubble factory" within the tank. not a real problem, but i like to take pictures with the digi and i found the bubbles in the photos were too much. with the reactor, with the output placed near the filter inlet, i can see the very fine bubbles coming out and into the filter, hence much better absorption and no hiccups. the reason for building the external reactor is simply the bulkiness of the contraption in the tank definitely distracts from the aesthetics of the natural aquarium, and the powerhead in the water bugs me...ultimately, i would like to get a canister with built in heater so the only thing in the tank is the filter inlet and outlet...thanks for the input, Brian
__________________
55 gallon - 4x55watt power compacts
fluval 404 - pressurized co2 - cardinal tetras - SAE's - pleco - platys - corys - amazon swords - crypts - anubias - spirall val
d28 boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004, 04:07 AM   #13
R2thaSAR
Algae Grower
 
R2thaSAR's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Stone Mountain
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to R2thaSAR
Default

what canister, explain
__________________
Jamaican Proverb: Rockstone a' rivah battam, it no know how sun hot. Meaning: A person who hasn't experienced something first-hand will not appreciate it fully.
R2thaSAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004, 04:48 AM   #14
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (175/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,092
Default

A canister filter, brand: Fluval, model: 404. I think.
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 05:35 AM   #15
d28 boy
Algae Grower
 
d28 boy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: arcata, california
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to d28 boy
Default

I read about a canister filter(eheim, I think) that has a heater built into it, and I am all for getting everything out of the tank that you possibly can...
__________________
55 gallon - 4x55watt power compacts
fluval 404 - pressurized co2 - cardinal tetras - SAE's - pleco - platys - corys - amazon swords - crypts - anubias - spirall val
d28 boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012