What would it take to rehabilitate a natural pond?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion > Ponds

Old 01-30-2014, 02:19 AM   #1
Chriss

PTrader: (0/0%)

What would it take to rehabilitate a natural pond?

I am a biology student and I have been trying to figure out what I would like to do as a research project. My family has a camp with a pond in the backyard and it is in very poor health. The water is orange and I do not think anything lives in it. The pond is fed by a small stream and is surrounded on three sides by wetlands. We do not technically own the camp since it is on state game land, I think, but we have had it for four generations. My dad said when he was young they used to swim in it and their were beavers that originally created the pond. The first thing I would like to know is if I would be able to modify the pond and if I would have to contact anyone who that would be. Also I would like to know how feasible an idea this is.
Chriss is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-30-2014, 03:29 AM   #2
WestHaven
Planted Tank Enthusiast

You should contact your state Department of Natural Resources, or equivalent agency.
WestHaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 03:50 AM   #3
spidangular
Algae Grower

Default What would it take to rehabilitate a natural pond?

The answer: a thousand years or a hundred thousand dollars.