Peat??
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2004, 08:58 PM   #1
lokobreed
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 524
Send a message via AIM to lokobreed
Default

SOme people recommended peat for planted tanks?

Is that ok as isnt it like mud type??

DO I put that under the gravel Im assuming?
How much do I need in a tank?

ALso where can I purchase it from?
lokobreed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-25-2004, 01:53 AM   #2
trenac
Wannabe Guru
 
trenac's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina, Traid area
Posts: 1,044
Default

Do you have hard water? Peat is used to soften your water and will make your water have a brownish tinge. Your LFS should carry it. One brand is made by Fluval to be used in a canister filter in the middle media basket. What is the reason you are wanting to use it in your planted tank?
__________________
He who angers you, controls you!
trenac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 02:10 AM   #3
Tonyd
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Montana
Posts: 312
Default

I have read (AP list, Tom Barr suggestion) that you put a handful or so for every couple of square feet under your substrate when you first set up a tank. Combined with a layer of mulm (gunk siphoned from an existing tank), this is supposed to give your new substrate more organic material and make it more stable like an established tank. (I may have the amount incorrect, do a search on google for Aquatic Plant mailing list and there are a lot of posts).

I have no direct experience but am going to try it on my tank.

YMMV.

Tony
Tonyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 03:06 AM   #4
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

Read my FAQ.

I have used peat in every planted tank I have set up. It does kick start the tank. You can use standard garden peat moss as long as it doesn't have any added fertilizers. It also helps to pre-soak it in water for a couple of days first. In fact if you can get hold of some panty hose or stockings they make the perfect container for soaking the peat.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 07:01 AM   #5
Raul-7
Wannabe Guru
 
Raul-7's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lomita, CA
Posts: 1,650
Default

Tony, you are right...Tom does use mulm and peat in all of his tanks as a base layer.
Raul-7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 03:19 PM   #6
IUnknown
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: San Juan Capistrano, CA
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to IUnknown
Default

Diamond black is a more recent suggestion. Check out this thread,

http://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/f...opic.php?t=257
IUnknown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 08:32 PM   #7
lokobreed
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 524
Send a message via AIM to lokobreed
Default

What kind of peat you recommend or is any ok?

Also I have no gravel in my tank right now as its not sertup yet, but I have heard that if oyu put a layer of peat then a layer of flourite then gravel for the rest that that is good for growing plants.

I would rather do that because stuff like Eco - Complete is very expensive.

Also what kind of flourite do I need?

Do you recommend I do this or just use peat then gravel?

And in gravel size should I use around 2mm -3 mm in size?
lokobreed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2004, 12:55 AM   #8
Tonyd
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Montana
Posts: 312
Default

As Rex mentioned, you have to be sure to get peat that doesn't have any added fertilizers or other chemicals. If you go with just gravel you will probably benefit by mixing in something like laterite or the flourite as you are thinking. Or, you could try using one of the newer methods of DIY substrate like was suggested by IUnknown.

Tony
Tonyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Peat... How thick? Tres Substrate 15 08-27-2004 04:48 PM
Safe/reliable way to lower pH? (w/o CO2) Peat? ^iMp^ Fertilizers and Water Parameters 6 02-07-2004 03:40 PM
Peat and KH Verminaard Fertilizers and Water Parameters 8 12-23-2003 09:26 PM
Peat in the Filter jojomichael General Planted Tank Discussion 4 11-20-2003 08:36 PM
peat in my filter? how much? tony-da-tiger General Planted Tank Discussion 10 08-16-2003 05:29 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012