Rack Plumbing
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2014, 03:02 AM   #1
agro
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
agro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 302
Default

Rack Plumbing


http://imgur.com/lBiV3yE

New stand idea, gf prefers this, actually like it also.

Last edited by agro; 01-23-2014 at 12:15 AM.. Reason: Fixed
agro is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-22-2014, 03:52 AM   #2
magnum
Algae Grower
 
magnum's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 136
Default

I'd prefer the 2nd option. Consider incorporating a UV sterilizer to help unwanted fungi/algae from spreading to all your tanks.
__________________
Sump Pimp #11
RAOK Club Member #53

All I got in life is my word, balls, and pride.
magnum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 03:54 AM   #3
agro
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
agro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magnum View Post
I'd prefer the 2nd option. Consider incorporating a UV sterilizer to help unwanted fungi/algae from spreading to all your tanks.
It's for shrimps, some algae is welcomed.
agro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 04:25 AM   #4
bostoneric
Happy Happy Happy
 
PTrader: (31/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,170
Default

I like #1 but curious about how you plan on doing the drain.

I have a few shrimp racks I use a sump with and can offer a few tips when you get more specifics about what you want to do.
bostoneric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 04:43 AM   #5
agro
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
agro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bostoneric View Post
I like #1 but curious about how you plan on doing the drain.

I have a few shrimp racks I use a sump with and can offer a few tips when you get more specifics about what you want to do.
Honestly not sure, it's a first of a project like this. Planned some drilled overflows with maybe a sponge to avoid loss of shrimp.

Only reason I want to do the rack with sump is because price of heater. A 300gl heater is ~35$. Multiple heaters for 10gl would be ~22$. Even though separate heaters are safer the case of failure.

Many cons and pros, rather unsure and guess I went towards sump.
agro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 02:40 PM   #6
GraphicGr8s
Banned
 
GraphicGr8s's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: West coast of the east coast of the USA.
Posts: 2,397
Default

No. one would be better. Less water to overflow if one tanks gets a blockage in the drain.
__________________
Quote me as saying I was misquoted.
Once you get rid of integrity the rest is a piece of cake.
Life is simple…People complicate it
Here's to our wives and sweethearts - may they never meet.
If you agreed with me we'd both be right.
GraphicGr8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 03:01 PM   #7
BruceF
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Centennial,Co
Posts: 1,103
Default

BruceF is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 10:55 PM   #8
lochaber
Wannabe Guru
 
lochaber's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 1,924
Default

I also think the first one is probably better, as each of the tanks will be getting water of the same quality. In the second pic, the last tank is going to be the last to get the water before the filter, so it's more likely to have lower quality water.
lochaber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 12:09 AM   #9
agro
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
agro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 302
Default

Actually going with a new type of stand, will update in a sec.


Quote:
Originally Posted by lochaber View Post
I also think the first one is probably better, as each of the tanks will be getting water of the same quality. In the second pic, the last tank is going to be the last to get the water before the filter, so it's more likely to have lower quality water.

http://imgur.com/lBiV3yE

And filtration between the tanks within/before pvc?
agro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 01:05 AM   #10
GraphicGr8s
Banned
 
GraphicGr8s's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: West coast of the east coast of the USA.
Posts: 2,397
Default

Your new version is still a series circuit. Way too much chance of a catastrophe. Think parallel water flow instead. If it were me I'd have all the tanks with a direct line to the sump as a backup. Just in case.
__________________
Quote me as saying I was misquoted.
Once you get rid of integrity the rest is a piece of cake.
Life is simple…People complicate it
Here's to our wives and sweethearts - may they never meet.
If you agreed with me we'd both be right.
GraphicGr8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 02:26 AM   #11
NanoDave
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
NanoDave's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tiverton, RI
Posts: 392
Default

Great vid BruceF! I agree with GraphicGr8s, parallel has less chance of failure.
__________________
75G, 29G, 20L, 12L, 10G, 5 Nano's, 3 Betta bowls

12G Rimless Club

*Everybody has too much of something...me? I have fish tanks.*
NanoDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 03:48 AM   #12
magnum
Algae Grower
 
magnum's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by agro View Post
It's for shrimps, some algae is welcomed.
For shrimp, you should definitely consider a sterilizer especially if the shrimp are higher quality. Hate to see everything die because of an unbeknownst disease in one tank.
__________________
Sump Pimp #11
RAOK Club Member #53

All I got in life is my word, balls, and pride.
magnum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 04:30 AM   #13
bostoneric
Happy Happy Happy
 
PTrader: (31/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GraphicGr8s View Post
Your new version is still a series circuit. Way too much chance of a catastrophe. Think parallel water flow instead. If it were me I'd have all the tanks with a direct line to the sump as a backup. Just in case.
agreed.. #3 would be a horrible idea.

and no matter what route you go dont use a sponge over the outflow. eventually it will slow the water down to a point where the tank will over flow.
use some stainless steal mesh.


if you really want to be frugal look up HMF filter. thats the best method for simple easy no worries rack.


no matter sump/plumbing option you use it wont be cheap. plumbing is expensive. I've built more than a few racks with sumps and currently I am building another.
it adds up fast.
bostoneric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 05:03 AM   #14
agro
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
agro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bostoneric View Post
agreed.. #3 would be a horrible idea.

and no matter what route you go dont use a sponge over the outflow. eventually it will slow the water down to a point where the tank will over flow.
use some stainless steal mesh.


if you really want to be frugal look up HMF filter. thats the best method for simple easy no worries rack.


no matter sump/plumbing option you use it wont be cheap. plumbing is expensive. I've built more than a few racks with sumps and currently I am building another.
it adds up fast.
Yea was looking into HMF, Unsure where to buy poret foam for diy, so might just pick a few 10g kits from swiss tropical.

For HMF how good of an air pump do I need though? Was planning the Tetra Whisper 300, would get valves and direct any excessive pressure to a 55g which is located nearby the designated rack area.
agro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 10:45 PM   #15
bostoneric
Happy Happy Happy
 
PTrader: (31/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,170
Default

air pump is no different that what you would use for an airstone or undergravel filter.
some people dont even use air stones inside the HMF tube so even less air pressure is needed.
bostoneric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012