Is this possible??
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2004, 10:47 PM   #1
fishlady
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 289
Default

I have an established 90 gallon tank (been set up for 1 1/2 years)that I am about to plant. I have bought the 90 llbs. of Flourite (ouch!) and was wondering if I could possibly:

1. Remove the fish and gravel but leave the water and mulm, put in the flourite and plants and return fish right away. or

2. Actually leave the fish in the water and make the switch or

3. House the fish is a tub temporarily for a day or two until the water clears as I know the flourite can be very cloudy at first.

Opionions?? Which way is the best??Thanks in advance-
fishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-19-2004, 11:16 PM   #2
Vinlo
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Vinlo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719
Default

I would say the 1 or 3 are your best bets. I did method as described in 2 with no real problem (lost 3 zebra danios).

If you taking all your existing gravel out I would say just take the fish out and keep them in a tank/tub with a sponge filter/power filter on it until your work is done.

my $.02
Vinlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 11:46 PM   #3
fishyboy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: central IL
Posts: 808
Default

i did 2 on my small 5 gal tank w/o problems
fishyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 11:50 PM   #4
fishlady
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 289
Default

Isnt the water incredibly cloudy at first though?? No harm to the fish??
fishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 11:55 PM   #5
WfxXx
Planted Tank Guru
 
WfxXx's Avatar
 
PTrader: (125/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 3,037
Send a message via ICQ to WfxXx
Default

Flourite, once rinsed very well will indeed be very clear upon filling the tank, key being "rinse well", then use a soucer or plate to lay on bed of substrate to fill without disturbing bed. your fish should be fine in a bucket filled with tank water for hours.
WfxXx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 12:20 AM   #6
fishlady
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 289
Default

Thank you. I posted my message and then read below and realized this had been discussed many times. I will be sure to RINSE well!! I have another question. In one of the posts, someone posted a picture of flourite in a paint bag. In the picture , it looks like styrofoam on the botttom of the tank to build it up. What a great idea, what kind of styrofoam do you buy to do that?? Thanks for all the help-
fishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012