Mineralized Topsoil mix questions
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate

Old 01-05-2014, 02:18 AM   #1
bcbishop
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Mineralized Topsoil mix questions

So i am building a 20G Long and have been researching that a mineralized topsoil mix capped with a aquarium substrate like eco-complete would be best for a planted tank.

This is the thread ive been following from AaronT http://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/f...on-talbot.html

I am a beginner at aquariums and especially substrates.

I want to do this the proper and best way possible first; to get the best results.

I am wanting to have a carpet of dwarf baby tears and keep shrimp, bottom feeders, and a small assortment of fish.

My questions are,
What is the point of using a top soil and rinsing it? Arnt you rinsing out anything good about it? or is it just there to hold minerals you provide and fertilizers you provide? Or will the good minerals still be in the soil once it is rinsed?

I went to a local planting store to purchase potassium sulfate as the thread from AaronT asked for Muriate of potash but i have heard that potassium sulfate is less soluble and will last longer in the substrate.

For the Dolomite, i asked the guy working at the planting store if they had dolomite and said that is really hard to find and they sold me dolopril. I took it home and did some more research and couldnt find exactly what it is as the carrier was unexplained. I went back to try and get something closer to dolomite. He then told me that doloprils carrier was a form of clay (which would be good?) but i wasnt sure about it so i traded it for some dolomitic lime.
Is dolmitic lime a good replacement for dolomite? or will it work for an aquarium?