Ramp timer and flashing
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Sponsors > Current-USA and Ecoxotic


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2014, 05:23 AM   #1
dswiese
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Portland
Posts: 150
Default

Ramp timer and flashing


So maybe I missed a post somewhere but I picked up a single ramp timer today and have it set to do a ramp up/down. it starts it dimming no problem then gets down to say 25% and has 3-4 flashes before getting to a few more levels dimmer before turning off as planned.

Normal ?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
55g
dswiese is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-06-2014, 05:13 AM   #2
dswiese
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Portland
Posts: 150
Default

watching closer tonight and I can't tell exactly which step down its on. But def a very small consistent flickering at these dimmer levels. Reminds me of fluorescent bulbs going bad.

Am I better off just turning it off with no dimming.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
55g
dswiese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 06:10 AM   #3
Brian_Cali77
Wannabe Guru
 
Brian_Cali77's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,363
Default

What mode do you have the Sat+ on? You have to make sure it's set on one of the preprogrammed modes, like full spectrum or orange for instance, before it starts it's ramp up or down cycle.
__________________
Brian_Cali77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 04:34 PM   #4
dswiese
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Portland
Posts: 150
Default

Yes, its on the full spectrum (middle of the second row) yellow one.
__________________
55g
dswiese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 05:13 PM   #5
Brian_Cali77
Wannabe Guru
 
Brian_Cali77's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,363
Default

That's strange... mine doesn't do that on that mode.

When I first got it, I created a time lapse video of the ramp up and ramp down cycle. The ramp up is smoother than the down but I don't get the flickering you describe.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kmhv8mtcz98
__________________
Brian_Cali77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 05:14 PM   #6
dswiese
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Portland
Posts: 150
Default

i will have to dig out the handheld camera and see if i can catch it during the ramp down. i will say i saw a couple ramp up cycles and agree that it is much smoother.
__________________
55g
dswiese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 06:52 AM   #7
Texan78
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Texan78's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Texas
Posts: 836
Default

According to Current, this is a known problem with this fixture when paired with this timer and why they list on their site it doesn't work with this fixture. It will work with the exception that on one of the presets you will get that flicker. So because of that they just don't advertise the timer working with this fixture because of that issue.
Texan78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 02:53 PM   #8
dswiese
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Portland
Posts: 150
Default

Texan. Thanks. It's just the orig single ramp timer. Thought it was the only one that worked with the sat+ ?

if it doesn't work. Which timer does ?
__________________
55g
dswiese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 03:55 PM   #9
lamiskool
Wannabe Guru
 
lamiskool's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 1,282
Default

None of them I believe....trust me I was very disappointed too. I hope really hope they end up making a new ramp timer as this feature was one of the main reasons I bought the fixture in the first place.
__________________
lamiskool is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 04:37 PM   #10
dswiese
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Portland
Posts: 150
Default

yeah i see on their page it just says On/Off
prob should have read through here more throughly.
oh well.

though i didnt notice any flashing last night during the ramp down.

may just go build my arduino 'remote' and step it down on a schedule that way.
__________________
55g
dswiese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 10:50 PM   #11
Current USA
Sponsor
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Vista CA
Posts: 261
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lamiskool View Post
None of them I believe....trust me I was very disappointed too. I hope really hope they end up making a new ramp timer as this feature was one of the main reasons I bought the fixture in the first place.
I'm so sorry to disappoint you! We originally built the timers to be fully compatible with the Satellite plus but because of some minor road bumps, there's some flickering happening at ~5% intensity. The newer versions will be fixed.
__________________
Visit our site at: http://www.current-usa.com/

Follow us on facebook! https://www.facebook.com/CurrentUSA
Current USA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 10:51 PM   #12
Current USA
Sponsor
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Vista CA
Posts: 261
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dswiese View Post
yeah i see on their page it just says On/Off
prob should have read through here more throughly.
oh well.

though i didnt notice any flashing last night during the ramp down.

may just go build my arduino 'remote' and step it down on a schedule that way.
the flashing is barely noticeable!
__________________
Visit our site at: http://www.current-usa.com/

Follow us on facebook! https://www.facebook.com/CurrentUSA
Current USA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 10:52 PM   #13
dswiese
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Portland
Posts: 150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Current USA View Post
The newer versions will be fixed.
newer versions of what? the timer or the light itself ?
will users get a trade in/up option as a lot of us purchased one or both of these based on initial representations of the product.
__________________
55g
dswiese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 10:54 PM   #14
dswiese
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Portland
Posts: 150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Current USA View Post
the flashing is barely noticeable!
just to clarify there were two separate states:
1. was a very noticeable rapid on/off/on flashing (similar to the lightning effect)
2. was a very fast flicker. more like a bad florescent lightbulb

#1 only happened once so far
#2 was observe one night. will check again tonight.
__________________
55g
dswiese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 04:54 AM   #15
Texan78
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Texan78's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Texas
Posts: 836
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dswiese View Post
newer versions of what? the timer or the light itself ?
will users get a trade in/up option as a lot of us purchased one or both of these based on initial representations of the product.

+1 agreed!
Texan78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012