Substrate question/looking to switch to planted tank.
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2004, 07:42 PM   #1
Broken
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 73
Default

Sorry I don't know much about substrate, right now I have a non-planted tank, and want to switch over to planted. I just have standard gravel in the tank. Do I need to remove the grave and purchase something like eco-complete for the entire bottom of the tank or do I mix it with my current gravel. I have a few LFS that sell it, and they told me I needed to switch over, I don't mind spending the money, but wanted to make sure this is correct, because I don't want to mess this up and would like to do it right the first time.
Broken is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2004, 07:58 PM   #2
Fat Guy
Wannabe Guru
 
Fat Guy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: new york, new york
Posts: 1,467
Default

How long have you had the gravel in there for and how many fish do you have, and what kind of fishies do you have?
__________________
Fat Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2004, 08:06 PM   #3
Broken
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 73
Default

Community fish, such as swords, neons, angels, clown loaches, around 25 fish. The tank is getting moved to a new location only to another room of the house, and I plan to move the fish to friends q tank while the move takes place. The gravel in the tank now has been in there for about 2 months, the tank has been fully cycled for about 1 month
Broken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2004, 08:11 PM   #4
Fat Guy
Wannabe Guru
 
Fat Guy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: new york, new york
Posts: 1,467
Default

The only reason I ask is that after a while, there's enough mulm in just plain gravel like yours to provide nutrients for your plants via the substrate. However, after only 2 months, I think if you're going to strip your tank down and don't care about spending the money, then I'd go with roughly three inches of ecco complete. It's great for plants and already has bacteria in it. It's the freshwater equivalant to live rock. You don't have to rinse it, just toss it in your tank and you should be ready to go. For substrate.
__________________
Fat Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My first planted tank, a 20g Long ... Desolas Tank Journals 24 02-22-2005 11:49 PM
Converting my 125 gallon planted tank to a .... kherman General Planted Tank Discussion 2 09-23-2004 08:25 PM
New planted discus tank ideas kingborris General Planted Tank Discussion 3 07-13-2004 12:48 AM
Fish bacteria or fungus in planted tank Shakey Fish 4 12-09-2003 10:47 PM
Work planted tank Neil_L Tank Journals 1 09-19-2003 05:13 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012