How to change from a biowheel filter to a canister filter?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2004, 06:03 PM   #1
hchance
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 52
Default

Hi there--
I have just ordered a Rena xp2 for my 46 gallon planted tank. It's been up and running only for a couple of weeks. I have an emperor 280 on it right now, which I added some of those bio star things in the extra media basket because I knew eventually I would be changing filters.
So my question is, when I install the xp2, can I just put the star things in there and remove the emperor? Or should I keep them both running? If so how long?
I hope this isn't a dumb question.

Thanks for any help!
Heather
hchance is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-16-2004, 08:25 PM   #2
pedietz
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 188
Default

I ran mine together for about 2 days, but it caused way too much current for the fish.

So I floated my biowheel and put the filter cartidge in the bottom for a couple weeks until I thought it was safe.
pedietz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2004, 04:00 AM   #3
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (168/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,046
Default

Heather,
You can do it either way, run them parallel for a few days, or use the old filter media in the canister. Especially if it is an established planted tank, there should be enough good bacteria on surfaces, plus plants will take up any ammonia in the absense of the biofiltering.
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2004, 12:39 PM   #4
hchance
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 52
Default

So it's ok? My tank is only two weeks old, so I'm not sure how much bacteria I have in the filter yet. I just want to make sure I don't cause any problems. I would really like to take that big ol' emperor off the back cuz it takes up so much room. Also don't want to cut up anymore of my top.
hchance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2004, 02:08 PM   #5
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

If a LFS carries Bio-Spira just add a pouch and run the new filter. And float the Bio-Stars in the tank.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2004, 03:40 PM   #6
hchance
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 52
Default

I have checked everywhere within 50 miles and no one carries biospira. I wanted some when I first started up my tank. I have been using Cycle though, not sure how good that stuff is.
So float the stars in the tank? There's lots of em. My filter just came today and I ordered it yesterday! Pretty fast eh?
hchance is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jebo 828 canister filter .. BOTIA Equipment 10 09-25-2004 05:23 PM
Canister Filter Advice Inzeos Equipment 0 09-11-2004 03:13 AM
Canister filter sucking air? Wasserpest Equipment 10 07-09-2004 12:45 AM
Canister Filter on 10-gallon? jread Equipment 13 01-06-2004 05:48 PM
Canister filter or just a penguin biowheel for a 20 gal long Gyo Equipment 9 11-23-2003 05:50 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012