Adding Soil to existing setup - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2007, 05:16 PM   #16
tazcrash69
Planted Tank Guru
 
tazcrash69's Avatar
 
PTrader: (22/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hawthorne, NJ
Posts: 3,207
Default

RachPreach: I would imagine it would work better with smaller substrates. With SMS which is supposedly light, I personally would want a nice thick layer of SMS on top to keep the soil down.
__________________
Walter
Visit my 125 profile and gallery or my 5 gallon low-tech. Proud member of:


--May the floor under your tank always be dry, and your glass clear!!!
tazcrash69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-23-2007, 11:51 PM   #17
RachPreach
Wannabe Guru
 
RachPreach's Avatar
 
PTrader: (15/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Shreveport, LA
Posts: 1,316
Send a message via MSN to RachPreach
Default

well i was asking if i could freeze blocks of the SMS so it would be easier to add to any existing setup to prevent all of the dust.
__________________
100g tank:10 small angelfish, 1 harlequin rasbora, 2 albino cory, 2 clown loach, 1 rubberlip pleco, 1 bristlenose pleco and 1 apisto borellis.
Rena Filstar xp3, 2x32 and 1x96 watts with no co2.
RachPreach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 12:51 AM   #18
mistergreen
No more Bow ties
 
mistergreen's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 13,874
Default

sms?
it'll work with sand even.. You just have to worry about the soil going anaerobic if you bury it too deep. I won't get oxygen down there. Two inches would be the max depth.
mistergreen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 01:47 AM   #19
RachPreach
Wannabe Guru
 
RachPreach's Avatar
 
PTrader: (15/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Shreveport, LA
Posts: 1,316
Send a message via MSN to RachPreach
Default

soil master select....its a common cheap substrate used by alot of aquarists. Its very fine grained. I was just wanting to know if it would freeze into blocks. I guess ill just try it.
__________________
100g tank:10 small angelfish, 1 harlequin rasbora, 2 albino cory, 2 clown loach, 1 rubberlip pleco, 1 bristlenose pleco and 1 apisto borellis.
Rena Filstar xp3, 2x32 and 1x96 watts with no co2.
RachPreach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 02:12 AM   #20
mistergreen
No more Bow ties
 
mistergreen's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 13,874
Default

oh, that stuff... I can't find it anywhere by me. I use shultz's aquasoil instead.
Yeah, I can't see why not. Just wet the soil first. And use managable containters.. Maybe ziplock sandwich bags even.
mistergreen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 04:22 PM   #21
RachPreach
Wannabe Guru
 
RachPreach's Avatar
 
PTrader: (15/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Shreveport, LA
Posts: 1,316
Send a message via MSN to RachPreach
Default

yeah thats what i was gonna do. thanks!
__________________
100g tank:10 small angelfish, 1 harlequin rasbora, 2 albino cory, 2 clown loach, 1 rubberlip pleco, 1 bristlenose pleco and 1 apisto borellis.
Rena Filstar xp3, 2x32 and 1x96 watts with no co2.
RachPreach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 01:03 PM   #22
ILuvMyGoldBarb
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/75%)
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 295
Default

Anyway... I moved the tank and added the soil yesterday afternoon. Everything went quite well. Did some tests this morning and thus far no NH3/NH4 and no NO2. Seems that the combination of my biofilter and the prep of the soil has been sufficient to handle any NH3/NH4 and the resulting NO2. I'll get some pics up soon. I added a few more plants to the mix.
__________________
"The capacity to learn is a gift; The ability to learn is a skill; The WILLINGNESS to learn is a choice." - Unknown
ILuvMyGoldBarb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012