High tech Filterless?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2013, 07:45 AM   #1
mindfestival
Planted Member
 
mindfestival's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 192
Default

High tech Filterless?


Good news! I just broke the clip that connects the hose to the body on my Fluval 405.

Apart from the element of flow, which I have adressed with a powerhead, and a place for the bacteria to colonize, which I imagine is apparent in my dirt substrate - is there any need for a canister filter?

This is a co2 injected tank, should it make any difference.
__________________
_______________________


"Good judgement comes from experience, and much of that comes from bad judgement"
mindfestival is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-17-2013, 07:50 AM   #2
xmas_one
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 3,245
Default

I don't see the need for a canister on a planted tank, although most of mine have them. Unless you have a crazy amount of fish in the tank, there really shouldn't be a need for additional bio than what the plants/substrate are providing.
xmas_one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 10:58 AM   #3
dzega
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Latvia, EU
Posts: 425
Default

i use only mechanical filtration on powerhead. its just fine
dzega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 11:05 AM   #4
roadmaster
Wannabe Guru
 
roadmaster's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Missouri united states
Posts: 1,917
Default

I should think you might see increase in particulate matter,suspended matter, plant matter, that ordnarily would be trapped in/on mechanical media in filter.
This I think would largely depend on number of fishes,food's offered,plant health,tank maint.
roadmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 01:36 PM   #5
scapegoat
Planted Tank Guru
 
scapegoat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: philadelphia, pa
Posts: 2,190
Default

my filtration is via sump and is mainly mechanical. I have polyfill in there for water polishing and some pond filter foam for mechanical filtration.

eventually i'll have plants in there. I really think people over filter...
__________________
scapegoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012