How Important Is A Fertilized Substrate?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2004, 12:42 AM   #1
Bronx19
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 69
Default

I ask this because I recently set up a planted tank and have had serious problems with the water being cloudy. I have done two 75% water changes to no avail. I believe the cause is that I later unknowingly added gravel that contained fertilizer.

I have the choice of using coagulents, or simply taking out the plants, removing fert, and replant.

Any suggestions?
Bronx19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-12-2004, 01:12 AM   #2
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

What gravel did you add? And what fertilizers do you think it contains?
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2004, 01:16 AM   #3
Buck
Planted Tank VIP
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lebanon, CT
Posts: 4,939
Default

hmmm, I have never heard of gravel that contains fertilizer. Are you sure it isnt just new tank syndrome, by this I mean a bacterial bloom or the onset of green water ?
Is there a big bio-load in it ?
__________________
Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2004, 02:31 AM   #4
Bronx19
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 69
Default

no no, I added the fert to the gravel myself. Its an iron powder from JBL called Florapol. I forgot that some of the spare gravel I had contained fert, and so whe nI put it in, it clouded immediately.

Is it possible to just use root tabs?
Bronx19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2004, 02:37 AM   #5
Momotaro
Doesn't like Kool-Aid
 
Momotaro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hawthorne, New Jersey
Posts: 10,125
Default

I think so.

Mike
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Momotaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2004, 05:30 PM   #6
hubbahubbahehe
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fremont, California
Posts: 1,315
Default

sounds like a possible green water attack...green water in it's beginnings doesn't look green. it's cloudy looking....
__________________
Eheim Pimp Club Member #32
hubbahubbahehe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I know if my substrate is well fertilized? ^iMp^ Substrate 3 05-06-2004 04:25 PM
Do I have enough fertilized substrate? robitreef Substrate 2 02-10-2004 02:18 AM
Is the substrate colour important? AussieTanker Substrate 3 01-13-2004 11:15 PM
How important is a good substrate? bdiamond Substrate 5 11-17-2003 08:00 PM
Nutrients in Substrate aquaphish General Planted Tank Discussion 6 03-10-2003 01:48 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012