Enjoying Your Tank - And Keeping A Light Cycle
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion

Old 12-07-2013, 07:02 PM   #1
crcarlsontech
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)

Enjoying Your Tank - And Keeping A Light Cycle

So I have two tanks in my home office. I have learned the hard way about unwanted algae and leaving the lights on too long.

My question is, how can I maintain a light cycle, but still have enough light to enjoy my tanks when I work? I typically spend 12 to 16 hours a day in my home office(i am a freelance web developer) and the moonlighting systems arent really bright enough for me to take a break and enjoy my tanks.

Currently I do not turn the lights on in the tanks until noon and then they are off again by 6pm. I keep cherry shrimp, otocinclus, subwassertang and anubias b. -- nothing special, no co2, plenty of t5 wattage when the cycle is on, no complaints about the tanks themselves -- just trying to figure out if there is a way to keep them lit enough to enjoy them throughout my sometimes very long work days?
crcarlsontech is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-07-2013, 10:57 PM   #2
MrSlumpy
Planted Member

PTrader: (2/100%)

Since you have 2 tanks, make one a morning tank and one an evening tank. Or as an alternative, stop working such long hours.
Old 12-08-2013, 12:40 AM   #3
dprais1
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (13/100%)

I use a combo of cfl bulbs and led. cfl is for plant growth and LEDs are more for viewing. When i'm up and about I just use the LEDs and have them turned down. CFL range from 6-8 hours a day while I am away.

Alternately, I sometimes leave one cfl bulb on and turn off all the other lights. This creates a very dramatic look. after a decent photoperiod I can turn that one off and another one on