nano filters..help?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Planted Nano Tanks


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2004, 02:20 AM   #1
all4funwfish
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Formerly Central Coast CA, Now in Bridgeport TX
Posts: 250
Default

planing on starting a nano tank for my computer desk....need some sources for nano filters, or recommendations on how to approach my first nano tank, which will actually be a glass container not ment to be a tank, modified with a filter heater etc. Thanks for the help guys!
all4funwfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-09-2004, 03:31 AM   #2
George Willms
Wannabe Guru
 
George Willms's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Rutherford, NJ
Posts: 1,433
Default

how small are we talking about here?
__________________
George
#2
Ehfipimp extraordinaire!
Eheim Pimp Club Recruiter, Saergant at Arms, and Enforcer.

29 and 45 gallon. 2026, 2028
My 29 gallon tank
George Willms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 12:15 PM   #3
Alex
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 84
Default

I have one of these on a 2 gallon tank at work and it does a pretty good job.

Alex
Alex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 03:47 PM   #4
daguruvjt
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Reisterstown, MD
Posts: 2
Send a message via ICQ to daguruvjt Send a message via AIM to daguruvjt Send a message via MSN to daguruvjt Send a message via Yahoo to daguruvjt
Default

I also have two of the Azoo filters. They work well, very quiet. I have one on a 2.5 gallon, and another on a 5 gallon. My betta is happier now!
daguruvjt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2004, 03:56 AM   #5
all4funwfish
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Formerly Central Coast CA, Now in Bridgeport TX
Posts: 250
Default

Awesome, those filter look like they will work well for my application!! im ordering two...not positive on my dimensions yet, but under 5 gallons. thanks a lot guys!
all4funwfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2004, 01:13 PM   #6
Ray1214
Algae Grower
 
Ray1214's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lawerenceville, Ga In a Van down by the river.
Posts: 136
Default

The best tank I have in the office (cubicle) is my 3 gal eclipse. get two gallon containers, and a timer and I use low light loving plants. I have had it for 7 or so months and keep only dwarf cories and shrimps.

Anyways, keep in mind that when you walk to refill or dump your change water on a weekly basis, people look really weirded out. So I recomend something that a 1 gallon or less water change is perfect for.

Ray
__________________
Ray
Bunches of tanks.
Reef, Planted, vivarium, terriarium, salt.


I worked my self up from nothing to a state of extreme poverity
Ray1214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2004, 07:48 AM   #7
Geo
Algae Grower
 
Geo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to Geo Send a message via MSN to Geo
Default

How is the noise level on these Azoo filters compare to the AC Mini?

I have a project that I am working on and the filter will be under three feat from my head all night. Gomer said he was kind of noisy, but I have you guys saying extremely quiet ... so ... who do I believe?

Have any of you tried the Pengiun biowheel mini? Wondering how that would compare to this...
__________________
I have a LOT better luck with aquatic plants than with houseplants ... mb this is a sign.
Geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2004, 12:15 PM   #8
Bert
Algae Grower
 
Bert's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sachse, Texas
Posts: 81
Default

If you keep the BIO-wheel on the Penguin, its can actually be quite loud when the water level gets low. But if you dont have the BIO-wheel on it's very quiet, but then again that kind of defeats the porous of having a BIO-wheel in the first place.

Bert
Bert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 02:04 AM   #9
Derek
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Have any of you tried the Pengiun biowheel mini? Wondering how that would compare to this...
I have a Penguin Mini W/Biowheel on my 10 gallon and an AC mini on my 5 gallon at work. Both units make virtually no motor or impeller noise; all the noise (if any) comes from the water falling into the tank from the outfall. I just keep the tanks filled up to just below their rims and everything's quiet. On the other hand the sound of falling water can be quite soothing...

Derek
Derek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 04:50 AM   #10
cich
Wannabe Guru
 
cich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,062
Send a message via MSN to cich
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geo
How is the noise level on these Azoo filters compare to the AC Mini?
I saw one running today in the LFS and that particular one was a bit noiser than the AC Mini. Keep in mind though, that maybe the impeller chamber was dirty or something like that... who knows.

--cich
cich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 06:15 AM   #11
Geo
Algae Grower
 
Geo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to Geo Send a message via MSN to Geo
Default

I personally don't mind the sound of falling dripping water

cich: Second person that I have head who said it was loud. I think I might just go with the penguin mini. I have an AC Mini on my 7 gallon, and even on it's lowest setting it gives quite a bit of flow, it would be like the tides are coming in on my 2.5 gallon!!!

Hmmm Azoo palm of Pengium Biowheel Mini ...

Why can't the azoo just be quiet?
__________________
I have a LOT better luck with aquatic plants than with houseplants ... mb this is a sign.
Geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 06:13 PM   #12
Badcopnofishtank
Got wood???
 
Badcopnofishtank's Avatar
 
PTrader: (208/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northern Arizona
Posts: 1,091
Default

I have two of the AQ mini's on for each of my ten gallon tanks I recently set up. Where do you folks put your CO2 lines to get maximum CO2 uptake? I have powerheads in the tanks right now and have plugged the CO2 line into the diffusors but this seems to waste alot of CO2...and I can't get my ph lower than 7.6.

I have thought of building a mini reactor for each tank...but if there is another way please let me know.
__________________
Badcopnofishtank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 06:34 PM   #13
Badcopnofishtank
Got wood???
 
Badcopnofishtank's Avatar
 
PTrader: (208/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northern Arizona
Posts: 1,091
Default

Any ideas or help would be appreciated.
__________________
Badcopnofishtank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2004, 02:10 AM   #14
Basilisk
Planted Member
 
Basilisk's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mexico
Posts: 277
Default

For ten gallon tanks I do not think it is really necessary to build a so-called reactor. If you just increase the bubbles per minute it should be better.

I use a mini water pump for diffusing CO2. I have noticed it does better than you would think if the CO2 pressure is low. When it is low, it takes much more time to push a bubble through the tube, to be then spitted out by the pump's water flow. Thus, the bubble doesn't reach the flow, and the latter keeps dissolving the CO2. In an optimum case, the bubble will never (hardly ever) reach the flow, but almost. You can prove the generator is working if you put the tube in water and see it bubbling. The tricky part would be adding the right proportion of yeast to achieve it.
__________________
Basilisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2004, 05:36 PM   #15
Badcopnofishtank
Got wood???
 
Badcopnofishtank's Avatar
 
PTrader: (208/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northern Arizona
Posts: 1,091
Default

Thanks for the info.

Right now I use a powerhead in each to diffuse the CO2. I have pressurized CO2 to one tank the other is DIY w/ two 2 liter bottles in line. It seems to produce enough CO2, but my ph will not get any lower than 7.4-7.6 with the DIY system. At that ph it seems there is more algae in that tank than the pressurized one. I am saving for a multi-tank spliter, hopefully that will solve this.
__________________
Badcopnofishtank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tungsten filament lightbulbs with filters kingborris Lighting 1 02-07-2005 09:42 PM
Filters Question hlie Equipment 4 06-16-2004 08:06 PM
canister filters? derekkim General Planted Tank Discussion 3 05-22-2004 05:05 PM
Filtration Systems for Nano Tanks AquaTony Planted Nano Tanks 2 01-23-2004 07:46 AM
Plumbing for two Eheim II Pro filters. mario Equipment 7 12-18-2003 07:09 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012