Fire belly toad?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion > Herp (Reptiles and Amphibians)

Old 12-02-2013, 07:31 PM   #1
Psycofc1
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)

Fire belly toad?

I have a 40b that I am thinking of turning into a spot for some fire belly toads. Problem is I have no experience with any reptiles. Is there any advice I can get on setting up initially? I have black diamond for a base substrate and was planning on doing a dirt top with a small pool for some guppy fry. I want to plant with live plants like moss and others that are slow growing.
Psycofc1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-05-2013, 12:38 PM   #2
Lia
Planted Tank Obsessed

FBT are easy . You could sink in one or two plastic topperware bins in your soil or use half land half water .

They do need a good size water area and they hang out by the "shore" . You can use any plants you want with them because they do not dig .

They might eat the guppies because mine eat anything that they see at water surface but crickets and mealworms is their main diet.

If I was going to do it in a tank I would go for a marsh type look , with floating plants , etc and only land area about 1/3 of the tank .

This is my basic outdoor set up in which they breed in every spring but an indoor tank has lots neat possibilities .

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=443121
Lia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 05:30 PM   #3
Psycofc1
Planted Member

Thanks for the response. The marsh idea was what i was kinda going for. Do they need a beach like ramp or would they be able to get out of the water if it was even with the soil side. As for the guppies they are meant for food. Was thinking of doing a 60/40 split using plexiglass to divide the tank.