Fixture For 45 Tall
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting

Old 11-27-2013, 12:30 AM   #1
tex79
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Fixture For 45 Tall

Hello, all. I'm new to planting and am in the process of converting my 45 gal tall from a fish-only to a planted freshwater tank. I just couldn't stand the unnatural look anymore. I am wondering what kind of fixture I should use for my purposes. I'm considering a 2 bulb HO and splitting them between growing and visibility temperatures. I've found some fixtures online that I'm considering, but part of me is wondering if it would just be better to DIY. I'm fairly certain I want to go with fluorescents, as they've stood the test of time and I like how their colors aren't so washed. If I do go with prefab, is there any brand/wattage/etc you would recommend?
tex79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-27-2013, 01:59 AM   #2
clincoln9
Algae Grower

How tall is a 45 tall? What kinds of plants were you going to use? The fixture you get will have to accommodate the light requirements of those plants. Different fixtures give different PAR values at different depths and knowing what plants you will use will help to ensure your plants will actually grow and have the proper amount of light.
clincoln9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 02:06 AM   #3
steveo
Algae Grower

A 45 gallon tall should be around 24" tall and 12.5" front to back. One Marineland Aquatic Plant Light would provide for the right spectrum for growing plants. It would in result in around 83 PAR at the 24" depth. This is enough to grow plants with higher light demands. However, you would need to inject CO2 or use Seachem Excel to avoid algae problems.
steveo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 02:42 AM   #4
tex79
Algae Grower