How to plant Nuphar japonica ,Splatterdock
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Plants


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2007, 11:20 PM   #1
frozenbarb
Planted Tank Guru
 
frozenbarb's Avatar
 
PTrader: (50/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA NY
Posts: 2,310
Send a message via AIM to frozenbarb
Default

How to plant Nuphar japonica ,Splatterdock


I will be getting some of these, And i was wondering how to plant,

I dont have enough Eco for it so i was wonderingg could i put this on a driftwood or slate. Since it has Rhizome
__________________
One month in.
frozenbarb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-17-2007, 05:20 PM   #2
Daniel*Swords
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Daniel*Swords's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Turku, Finland
Posts: 764
Default

Nope, can't put it to grow 'epiphytically'. The rhizome needs to be half-buried in the soil. It'll grow an impressive root system (like 1 m in diametre). I like it and many visitors spot it and admire its looks. The rhizome needs some trimming from time to time (cutting off the back part that's shed all its leaves) but otherwise it's a really undemanding plant once it has rooted properly (which is not so easy always), IMO.
Daniel*Swords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 06:59 PM   #3
spypet
Planted Tank Guru
 
spypet's Avatar
 
PTrader: (56/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Forest Hills, NY
Posts: 3,297
Default

Splatterdock you plant like any other rhizome, root buried trunk on or above the gravel, but the main trick with Spatterdock is, you never ever disturb it or it will melt faster than a Cryptocoryne, and then the leaf growth will have to start all over again.
spypet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 01:34 PM   #4
Daniel*Swords
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Daniel*Swords's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Turku, Finland
Posts: 764
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spypet View Post
the main trick with Spatterdock is, you never ever disturb it or it will melt faster than a Cryptocoryne,
I've never had this problem. I've taken the plant up from the substrate (both all the way and just partly), and either relocated or just moved it backwards (from where it's been coming). Funny how differently it reacts in different conditions!
Daniel*Swords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 01:45 PM   #5
spypet
Planted Tank Guru
 
spypet's Avatar
 
PTrader: (56/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Forest Hills, NY
Posts: 3,297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel*Swords View Post
Funny how differently it reacts in different conditions!
while you are right, of course;

I have Nuphar japonicum in my tank,
perhaps you have a different plant.

spypet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 01:54 PM   #6
Daniel*Swords
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Daniel*Swords's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Turku, Finland
Posts: 764
Default

Nope, I've got the same Nuphar japonica in my tank.
Daniel*Swords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 02:16 PM   #7
TAF CAF
Wannabe Guru
 
TAF CAF's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bailey, Colorado
Posts: 1,171
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel*Swords View Post
Nope, I've got the same Nuphar japonica in my tank.
You have the same plant!!! How weird is that, and here I thought something could only exist once in the same space/time dimension... shows you what I know.
__________________
Something so expensive and addictive HAS to be illegal. I'm just waiting for the police to break down my door and confinscate my fish food.
What's my sign? I'm an aquarist. --- 2.5g Planted Shrimp, 10g Planted Killifish, 60g Planted Kribs, 120g Planted Community, 90g Salty Reef with 55g Salty Planted, 180g Planted Goldfish

Colorado Aquarium Society ___ www.2000webdesign.com ___
TAF CAF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 02:57 PM   #8
spypet
Planted Tank Guru
 
spypet's Avatar
 
PTrader: (56/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Forest Hills, NY
Posts: 3,297
Default

TAF, there must be a fold in space/time allowing us to have the same plant.
Daniel's must be caught in some future time, when it's always fully grown out.
hey Daniel, see if you can send through some reindeer jerky,
and I'll see if I can push through a few thin slices of pastrami
spypet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 03:16 PM   #9
Daniel*Swords
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Daniel*Swords's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Turku, Finland
Posts: 764
Default

What about the parallel dimentions/ worlds?

Spypet, the plan sounds good to me... will be trying that soon!
If I send it from the future, what will it become in the past??? Hope you won't get a drowned reindeer on your hands!!!

From another perspective, it wouldn't surprice me enormously if it turned out that our plants were the same, ie. clones. I think many aquarium plants come originally from one collection and are multiplied by divisions and cellular cloning...
Daniel*Swords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 10:40 PM   #10
CAF
Algae Grower
 
CAF's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spypet View Post
TAF, there must be a fold in space/time allowing us to have the same plant.
Daniel's must be caught in some future time, when it's always fully grown out.
hey Daniel, see if you can send through some reindeer jerky,
and I'll see if I can push through a few thin slices of pastrami
LOL. If his is always grown out in the future and he sent you some reindeer jerky, wouldn't you just get the raw meat?
__________________
Chris
Vice President
Colorado Aquarium Society

CAF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 02:45 PM   #11
Trail_Mix
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel*Swords View Post
From another perspective, it wouldn't surprice me enormously if it turned out that our plants were the same, ie. clones. I think many aquarium plants come originally from one collection and are multiplied by divisions and cellular cloning...
I know this thread's really old, but I thought this was an interesting topic. The truth is, as we all know, that the same plant can grow completely differently in different conditions. In this case we are talking about two plants in two different tanks, but conditions can be as different as emerged and submerged. I was wondering, now that more is known about this plant, what's the general consensus regarding its sensitivity to relocation?
Trail_Mix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 06:31 PM   #12
bonaparte
Algae Grower
 
bonaparte's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 118
Default

How big does Nuphar Japonica get? From what I've read it sounds like it gets a foot across or so, is that right?

I'm setting up a high light 75gallon and I want to make sure I give it space.
__________________
bonaparte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 06:54 PM   #13
JMN16150
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
JMN16150's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Lathrop, CA
Posts: 337
Default

That is true, big submerged leaves, just bury the tuber all the way.
JMN16150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012