Algae on plants, high PH and hardness and NO CO2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae

Old 02-04-2004, 02:38 PM   #1
asmodion
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

I'm a newbie to this so please bear with me. Also, I don't have stats on my water handy but had some general questions about my uncommon situation and will persue purchasing appropriate additives and test kits accordingly.

I have a 75g African rift aquarium in which I have planted Crypts, Anubias, amazon swords, and two species of Vals. There is also a large mass of java moss hanging around one side of the tank. I can NOT use CO2 because the PH needs to stay high. As far as I am aware it's not really possible to maintain a ~8.2 PH with CO2, so I haven't tried. Hardness is around 10-12, both carbonate and general. Substrate is a mix of crushed lace rock (for ph and hardness) and flourite. All decor rock is lace rock. Side note: seems that java ferns will not grab on to lace rock (not porous enough?).

It seems that the plants are growing well. The swords have shot runners to the surface (I take this to be positive), the fancy java ferns have dropped baby plants from their leaves (I take this as positive), and the vals have started baby plants via horizontal runners (I take this as positive).